Calibrating my music listening setup - what should I be aiming for?

Marcus Aseth

Hello everyone, this is my first post in this forum, I have a pair of kali lp6-v2 and an SVS SB1000 subwoofer hooked to my pc, which I use for gaming, movies and music listening. I am not a professional, and so I come here seeking for guidance.
I want to setup my audio properly for great audio listening experience, and so I've bought a umik-1 and took some measurement using REW (image below):
Capture.PNG

Treating my room further is not an option, so that's what I have to work with and hope EQ is enough to give me what I want.
But I have few questions about this:
First, what line should I strive to achieve? Is it a flat line?
Second, up to what frequency should I be equalizing, judging from the measurement above? Would you equalize that thing around 750Hz?
Third, in a previous attempt at EQ the end resould is always a weavy line, is that normal? What is the biggest acceptable difference in dB between two frequencies near to each other?
Fourth, given the graph above, where would you place the flat target line?
Fifth, should I only work by decreasing the gain or is ok to increase it as well?

That's all for now, hope I can get it right this time with your help

Last edited:

JStewart

Senior AV Addict
Supporter
First, what line should I strive to achieve? Is it a flat line?

Typically its a line that tilts downward from left to right (as your graph does). This is because this is the natural tendency of speakers in rooms.
Ultimately its going to be what sounds best to you with your equipment in your room because there are far more factors in play than just a frequency response graph.

Second, up to what frequency should I be equalizing, judging from the measurement above? Would you equalize that thing around 750Hz?