REW vs OmniMic

Chuck Gerlach

I have been using OmniMic for 10 years or longer but needed to validate its perfrormance on my LFE channel. So I used REW. From the two plots below, the results between about 20Hz and 100Hz are close enough. But south of there, huge difference. How accurate is REW south of 20Hz?. I have had the miniDSP mic for a very long time but never used it and I did download the cal file.

Attachments

• OmniMic Plot.png
    OmniMic Plot.png
    3.8 KB · Views: 161
  • REW Plot.png
    REW Plot.png
    29.3 KB · Views: 156

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Staff member
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Yamaha CX-A5000 A/V Preamp / Processor
Main Amp
Yamaha RX-Z9 AV Receiver (as multichannel amp)
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Denon DCT-3313 UDCI Universal Disc Player
Front Speakers
Canton Karat 920
Center Channel Speaker
Canton Karat 920
Front Wide Speakers
Realistic Minimus 7 (front EFX speakers)
Surround Speakers
Canton Plus D
Surround Back Speakers
Yamaha YDP2006 Digital Parametric EQ (front mains)
Front Height Speakers
Yamaha YDP2006 Digital Parametric EQ (surrounds)
Rear Height Speakers
Yamaha YDP2006 Digital Parametric EQ (sub)
Subwoofers
Hsu ULS-15 MKII
Other Speakers or Equipment
Adcom ACE-515 (for power management)
Video Display Device
Yamaha DT-2 (digital clock display)
Screen
Pioneer PDP-6010FD 60" Plasma TV
Remote Control
Stock Yamaha Remote
Streaming Equipment
Roku Express
Other Equipment
Audio Control R130 Real Time Analyzer
Hard to say with what you gave us to go on. One can’t make a valid argument for or against either platform without knowing if the measurements were taken with the same mic and calibration file.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Chuck Gerlach