NAD T758 V3 AVR Receiver Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'AV Receivers / Processors / Amps' started by Sonnie, Apr 3, 2018.

  1. JStewart

    JStewart Senior Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Central FL
    Just read a post on another forum from a respected member stating he is aware of examples of sub delay being changed after Dirac calibration to improve sub/satellite combined response. So it would seem that @Eric SVL 's concerns of needing minidsp or other are valid. If not for the time alignment of the subs to each other then for this reason.
     
  2. Eric SVL

    Eric SVL Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    18
    Well, to my shock, I'm told I don't need to set delays and time align the subs pre-Dirac. So the only way I'm going to figure this out is to just get my hands on it. I'll try it both ways and see which gets the best result.
     
  3. Eric SVL

    Eric SVL Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    18
    I found an answer to my question about multi-sub setup with the NAD and Dirac.

    https://www.avsforum.com/forum/113-...audio-subwoofer-thread-1154.html#post56570216

    Rythmik subs use a linear-phase all-pass filter which is suitable for use as a delay control. You shouldn't need a MiniDSP 2x4 HD unless you need more than 16ms of delay, or if you want to load other EQ functions onto it. But you won't need one to integrate the subs like you would with other sub amps.
     
    bkeeler10 likes this.
  4. Flak

    Flak Member
    VIP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    26
    We have uploaded and set up the NAD Full Dirac version 1.2.37 to portal.
    Now this version can be downloaded in the Download page.

    :) Flavio
     
  5. JStewart

    JStewart Senior Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Central FL
    Thanks Flavio. That's great news! Can't wait to try it out.
     
  6. Sonnie

    Sonnie Senior Admin
    Staff Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Alabama
    We are trying out the new version tonight... thanks Flavio!
     
  7. bkeeler10

    bkeeler10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    86
    Just posted in the review thread, but probably should have done so here instead. . . I've ordered my T758 v3 and it will be here next Tuesday. Needless to say, I'm excited to get it up and running.
     
  8. Sonnie

    Sonnie Senior Admin
    Staff Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Alabama
    Hopefully you will really like it... although I did find it slightly more challenging to figure out than the mainstream receivers.
     
  9. bkeeler10

    bkeeler10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    86
    I'm thinking it will be fine. My last unit was an Onkyo pre/pro from 2008, so I know nothing of the more uo-to-date GUIs in newer AVRs.
     
  10. spazzola

    spazzola New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    i own a 758V3 too and have some issues which i would like to find out if other users do have them also..

    My TV which is the Sat Receiver and source for Netflix and Amazon Films is connected via HDMI to the HDMI out of the NAD.
    The ARC works great, the AVR automatically switches on when the TV is on and the level can be adjusted via the TV remote...
    But only until i once use BluOS.
    When i stream via BluOS and stop it again, and switch the AVR off, the ARC is no longer working...until i take the power cord off for some minutes...

    Does anybody else have the same problem?
    Do you have any ideas, hints...to solve it?

    Regards
    Eric
     
  11. bkeeler10

    bkeeler10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    86
    I don't use ARC, so I won't be much help here, but it sounds like it could be a bug. Be interesting to see if someone slse could duplicate it with the same equipment you have.
     
  12. Todd Anderson

    Todd Anderson News Editor / Reviewer/ Senior Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Balt/Wash Metro
    @Sonnie, how do you have your NAD hooked up?
     
  13. Sonnie

    Sonnie Senior Admin
    Staff Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Alabama
    I do... but I have never used ARC and not familiar with it.
     
  14. spazzola

    spazzola New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would be great if anyone could try it out...
    The ARC Features are great....when they work...

    Regards
    Eric
     
  15. Sonnie

    Sonnie Senior Admin
    Staff Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Alabama
    I don't think I can with an Epson projector. Of course I won't even have a few minutes to go into my room between now and Christmas... we are slammed here at the shop.
     
  16. Flak

    Flak Member
    VIP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    26
    Eric SVL likes this.
  17. JStewart

    JStewart Senior Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Central FL
    Thanks Flavio. The continued improvements in the UI are appreciated and Dirac, as always, sounds great.

    Do you think it might be possible to improve the contrast of the graphs as was done to the levels screen? The 1st 2 groups, which for me are 1-Sub and 2-Center, are especially difficult to see Both use light blues for the SPL traces on the gray background. They are difficult to see on my laptop even when the lines are hi-lighted bold and impossible to see when they are not.

    I like the concept of different colors for the different traces vs Dirac Ver 1 though. Maybe I'm just missing a way that user's can change the default colors for the traces?
     
  18. jeeriko

    jeeriko New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tallinn
    Here is updated Dirac Live calibration setup file!
     

    Attached Files:

    DanDro likes this.
  19. JStewart

    JStewart Senior Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Central FL
    Thanks for sharing @jeeriko !
     
  20. Flak

    Flak Member
    VIP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    26
    Negatron likes this.
  21. jeeriko

    jeeriko New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tallinn
  22. bkeeler10

    bkeeler10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    86
    Yay for that! I will be updating mine tonight hopefully, and have a go at the DTS:X demo disc I've been waiting to play with for a few months.
     
  23. Flak

    Flak Member
    VIP Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    26
    bkeeler10 likes this.

Share This Page