NAD T 758 V3 Setup with Dolby Atmos speakers

Need to confirm the above settings are correct

  • Any

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Any

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0
  • Poll closed .

Ravi De Silva

New Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
4
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
NAD T758V3 AV RECEIVER
Additional Amp
AUDIOSOURCE Amp100vs 2 Channel Analog Power Amp 50
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Panasonic
Front Speakers
Montor Audio BRONZE BR5
Center Channel Speaker
Monitor Audio
Surround Speakers
HECO Bipolar
Surround Back Speakers
Energy Cubes
Front Height Speakers
Pioneer SP-T22A-LR Add-on Speaker Dolby Atmos
Subwoofers
Paradighm
Please Tell me how I can setup the speakers and Amplifier setup when I need to connect NAD T 758 V3 as 7.1.2 with Dirac Live LE

I have the following setup.

2 Front Tower Speaker (Monitor Audio)
1 Centre Speaker
2 HECO Surround Speakers
2 Back Energy Cube Speakers
1 Sub woofer Paradighm

2. Dolby Atmos Pioneer Speakers on top of 2 towers front. (7.1.2)
My question is that what position to be selected 2 Dolby Atmos speakers? and Amplifier Set up
 

Attachments

JStewart

Senior Member
Supporter
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
266
Location
Central FL
Welcome to the forum!
I'll be glad to get this started for you. Your speaker configuration is correct for what you'd like to do but you didn't mention external amplification in your equipment list. For 7.1.2 you will need external amplification for 2 channels as the NAD has amplification for only 7.
 

Ravi De Silva

New Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
4
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
NAD T758V3 AV RECEIVER
Additional Amp
AUDIOSOURCE Amp100vs 2 Channel Analog Power Amp 50
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Panasonic
Front Speakers
Montor Audio BRONZE BR5
Center Channel Speaker
Monitor Audio
Surround Speakers
HECO Bipolar
Surround Back Speakers
Energy Cubes
Front Height Speakers
Pioneer SP-T22A-LR Add-on Speaker Dolby Atmos
Subwoofers
Paradighm
Welcome to the forum!
I'll be glad to get this started for you. Your speaker configuration is correct for what you'd like to do but you didn't mention external amplification in your equipment list. For 7.1.2 you will need external amplification for 2 channels as the NAD has amplification for only 7.
I have connected Power Amplifier (AUDIOSOURCE Amp100vs 2 Channel Analog Power Amp 50 Watts Per Channel) taking from the receiver Audio Pre-out Front HT1 and connected 2 Dolby Atmos.
Hope this will answer your requirement.
 

Todd Anderson

News Editor / Reviewer/ Senior Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
4,964
Location
Balt/Wash Metro
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Yamaha RX-A3050
Main Amp
Emotiva XPA-5
Additional Amp
Emotiva XPA Gen 2 4xStereo 2XSingle
Other Amp
VSX-1016THX
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
OPPO UDP-203
Front Speakers
SVS Ultra Towers
Center Channel Speaker
SVS Ultra Center
Surround Speakers
SVS Ultra Surround
Surround Back Speakers
SVS Ultra Bookshelf
Front Height Speakers
SVS Prime Elevation
Rear Height Speakers
SVS Prime Elevation
Subwoofers
dual SVS SB16s + dual PSA XS30s
Other Speakers or Equipment
Behringer 1124p; Aura Bass Shaker Pros; SuperSub X
Video Display Device
JVC RS520
Screen
Carada Cine-White 0 gain
Other Equipment
LG Electronics 65-inch B6 OLED, OPPO Sonica
I’m not super familiar with the NAD MENU settings - some receivers allow you to set your Atmos channels as modules or ceiling mounted channels.

Doesn’t look like that’s an option for you? If not, I’d think you set them as Height 1.
 
Last edited:

JStewart

Senior Member
Supporter
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
266
Location
Central FL
I’m not super familiar with the NAD MENU settings - some receivers allow you to set your Atmos channels as modules or swiping mounted channels.

Doesn’t look like that’s an option for you? If not, I’d think you set them as Height 1.
Good news, Todd. On the T758v3 Dolby Enabled Front is correct for Dolby Atmos speakers that sit on top of fronts. The other options available are Top Front, Top Middle, and Top Rear.
 

Todd Anderson

News Editor / Reviewer/ Senior Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
4,964
Location
Balt/Wash Metro
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Yamaha RX-A3050
Main Amp
Emotiva XPA-5
Additional Amp
Emotiva XPA Gen 2 4xStereo 2XSingle
Other Amp
VSX-1016THX
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
OPPO UDP-203
Front Speakers
SVS Ultra Towers
Center Channel Speaker
SVS Ultra Center
Surround Speakers
SVS Ultra Surround
Surround Back Speakers
SVS Ultra Bookshelf
Front Height Speakers
SVS Prime Elevation
Rear Height Speakers
SVS Prime Elevation
Subwoofers
dual SVS SB16s + dual PSA XS30s
Other Speakers or Equipment
Behringer 1124p; Aura Bass Shaker Pros; SuperSub X
Video Display Device
JVC RS520
Screen
Carada Cine-White 0 gain
Other Equipment
LG Electronics 65-inch B6 OLED, OPPO Sonica
Nice! That makes it super easy!
 

Ravi De Silva

New Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
4
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
NAD T758V3 AV RECEIVER
Additional Amp
AUDIOSOURCE Amp100vs 2 Channel Analog Power Amp 50
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Panasonic
Front Speakers
Montor Audio BRONZE BR5
Center Channel Speaker
Monitor Audio
Surround Speakers
HECO Bipolar
Surround Back Speakers
Energy Cubes
Front Height Speakers
Pioneer SP-T22A-LR Add-on Speaker Dolby Atmos
Subwoofers
Paradighm
Amp setup is kept as back position. is it correct? or should it be at zone2?
 

Ravi De Silva

New Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
4
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
NAD T758V3 AV RECEIVER
Additional Amp
AUDIOSOURCE Amp100vs 2 Channel Analog Power Amp 50
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Panasonic
Front Speakers
Montor Audio BRONZE BR5
Center Channel Speaker
Monitor Audio
Surround Speakers
HECO Bipolar
Surround Back Speakers
Energy Cubes
Front Height Speakers
Pioneer SP-T22A-LR Add-on Speaker Dolby Atmos
Subwoofers
Paradighm

jbislenel

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
1
All,
My first post here but not my first rodeo audio wise.
I have configured my newly acquired T758 V3 (Secondary System for Family Room), exactly like Ravi and have to this point found no way to have both front Height 1 and back speakers active at the same time.
If, as Ravi and I have configured, the back amp is kept as a back amp, the line level outputs are NOT active for the Height channels and they do NOT put out a signal to the downstream amp used for same. Dirac doesn't find them as speakers so they must be removed to use Dirac on the rest of the speaker group.
I have confirmed that IF I reconfigure the back amp as a Height Amp the line level outputs then function as Height 1 outputs but of course then I have no back channels functional.
I would appreciate input from anyone who has this configuration working to provide me with the solution they have found.

Thanks
 

JStewart

Senior Member
Supporter
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
266
Location
Central FL
Hopefully I'm not misunderstanding, but sounds like you're trying to configure a 7.1.2 system? To do that with the T758v3 you will need to use an external amp and the height channel pre-amp outputs are on the very left on the back of the unit. Leave the NAD's amp assignment on "Back" for a 7.1.X configuration.
 

AudiocRaver

Senior Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
773
Location
Lincoln, NE, USA
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Onkyo TX-SR705 Receiver
Main Amp
Crown XLS 1502 DriveCore-2 (x2 as monoblock)
Additional Amp
Behringer A500 Reference Power Amplifier
Front Speakers
MartinLogan Electromotion ESL Electrostatic (x2)
Center Channel Speaker
Phantom Center
Surround Speakers
NSM Audio Model 5 2-Way (x2)
Subwoofers
JBL ES150P Powered Subwoofer (x2)
Interesting. With the older version (full) of the Dirac Live calibration program, the two height speakers show up just as they should. With the new version, just released, they do not. I will see what the folks at Dirac have to say.
 

JStewart

Senior Member
Supporter
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
266
Location
Central FL
Interesting. With the older version (full) of the Dirac Live calibration program, the two height speakers show up just as they should. With the new version, just released, they do not. I will see what the folks at Dirac have to say.
You're referring to the volume calibration screen? With a 5.1.4 I have to left click and drag the screen left to see the height 2 speakers on the right. I can see the height 1. I guess with a 7.1.X all the height speakers would be off the screen to the right.
 

AudiocRaver

Senior Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
773
Location
Lincoln, NE, USA
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Onkyo TX-SR705 Receiver
Main Amp
Crown XLS 1502 DriveCore-2 (x2 as monoblock)
Additional Amp
Behringer A500 Reference Power Amplifier
Front Speakers
MartinLogan Electromotion ESL Electrostatic (x2)
Center Channel Speaker
Phantom Center
Surround Speakers
NSM Audio Model 5 2-Way (x2)
Subwoofers
JBL ES150P Powered Subwoofer (x2)
Thanks, John! I tried everything else under the sun! You probably read the manual.

FALSE ALARM!
 

JStewart

Senior Member
Supporter
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
266
Location
Central FL
Thanks, John! I tried everything else under the sun! You probably read the manual.

FALSE ALARM!
Glad I could help.
The UI is still kind of buggy and there isn't a manual yet that I'm aware of. Zooming frustrated me to no end because I did it accidentally a couple of times without knowing what I'd done. Finally figured out 2 fingers up/down on the laptop mouse pad was doing it. Once zoomed you can drag right/left.
I'll look forward to hearing what you have to say about Dirac 2.0 when the time comes.
 

AudiocRaver

Senior Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
773
Location
Lincoln, NE, USA
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Onkyo TX-SR705 Receiver
Main Amp
Crown XLS 1502 DriveCore-2 (x2 as monoblock)
Additional Amp
Behringer A500 Reference Power Amplifier
Front Speakers
MartinLogan Electromotion ESL Electrostatic (x2)
Center Channel Speaker
Phantom Center
Surround Speakers
NSM Audio Model 5 2-Way (x2)
Subwoofers
JBL ES150P Powered Subwoofer (x2)
All,
My first post here but not my first rodeo audio wise.
I have configured my newly acquired T758 V3 (Secondary System for Family Room), exactly like Ravi and have to this point found no way to have both front Height 1 and back speakers active at the same time.
If, as Ravi and I have configured, the back amp is kept as a back amp, the line level outputs are NOT active for the Height channels and they do NOT put out a signal to the downstream amp used for same. Dirac doesn't find them as speakers so they must be removed to use Dirac on the rest of the speaker group.
I have confirmed that IF I reconfigure the back amp as a Height Amp the line level outputs then function as Height 1 outputs but of course then I have no back channels functional.
I would appreciate input from anyone who has this configuration working to provide me with the solution they have found.

Thanks
jbislenel: Hopefully you have figured this out, with jstewart's guidance. I can attest that it works as he says.

I'll look forward to hearing what you have to say about Dirac 2.0 when the time comes.
Thanks, that is in process.
 
Top Bottom