My First Room Measurement

Splinter2k

Registered
More  
Computer Audio
Focusrite
Front Speakers
Focal CMS 65
Attached is my first room measurement. I attached 2-mdat files and the calibration file.

I'm still learning how to read things, but looks like I have a sizable dip around 100hz?

This is a studio mixing room. It is treated with panels, bass traps and diffusors on the back wall.

I would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks,

Keith

Attachments

• Room_With_Me_In.mdat
    2.1 MB · Views: 32
  • Room_Without_Me.mdat
    2.1 MB · Views: 20
  • REW_First_CAL.cal.txt
    512 KB · Views: 12

Splinter2k

Registered
More  
Computer Audio
Focusrite
Front Speakers
Focal CMS 65
Calibration file added to OP.

dotnet

Where were you during the “with me” measurment, assuming that the space normally occupied by your head would have been taken up by the microphone?

Is this two speakers playing simultaneously, or just one? Or two speakers and a sub?

What‘s interesting is that both the “with me” and “without me” measurements show a notch around 96Hz, so the first instinctive suspicion would be SBIR or some room interaction. But the excess group delay in the “with me” measurement is as smooth as a baby’s bottom (suggesting that the notch should be easy to EQ), whereas in the “without me” measurement it has a peak at 96Hz.

I don’t know what to make of that. Did you use a timing reference for the measurements?

Last edited:

sm52

Your mixing studio is well muted. Even a little too much. There is a difference with you and without you. This manifests itself 1 ms and further after the main pulse. Your presence adds 10-15 dB to the reflections without you. Were you approximately 35 cm away from the microphone when you measured with you?

dotnet

Were you approximately 35 cm away from the microphone when you measured with you?

You reckon that‘s what it is? I thought it’s perhaps reflections off the desk or something.