More  
Main Amp
NAD 3155 / Sennheiser 6xx
Computer Audio
Scarlett Solo 3rd gen / Presonus Eris E5
DAC
FX DAC-X6
Hi AVNirvana!

So I'm looking to do some upgrades to my home studio in terms of acoustic treatment. At the moment I only have some 1 and 2 inch cheap foam at first on first reflections on the walls and ceiling, and a bookshelf in the back right corner. I realize they don't do all that much and I'm thinking I will make some 4" DIY absorption panels for the first reflections, and some alternating diffusers.

I've just received an UMIK-1 and have done some measurements and I've attached the results. Am I to understand that the decay times look descent, at least for mids and highs? There are also some inconsistencies between the right and left, I'm guessing it might have to do with the front window that has some depth to it (23cm deep), but would love to get you guys input on this as I'm fairly new to this.

The buildup at ~130hz I think is partly due to the speakers: Presonus_Eris_E5_SPL_vs_Hz_Graph_L.jpg but I'm guessing also the desk and side first reflections aren't helping.

Edit: btw the ceiling is sloped and the dotted lines are just there for the drawing and my calculations. There's not actually anything there.

Advice and input welcomed!!

Attachments

• Test L+R+RL.mdat
    19.1 MB · Views: 24
  • room.png
    room.png
    12 KB · Views: 107
  • Room Overhead.png
    Room Overhead.png
    27.4 KB · Views: 108
Last edited:

ddude003

AV Addict
Somewhere Northeast of Kansas City Missouri
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
PrimaLuna Dialogue Premium TubePre (2 channel+sub)
Main Amp
McIntosh MC152 SS Amp (2 channel)
Additional Amp
Yamaha RX-A850 Pro (the other 5 channels lol)
Computer Audio
MacBook Pro, Custom i7 7700k De-lid 2xAsus1080ti GFX Audirvana Studio, Hang Loose Convolver, Pulsar Massive & 8200, LiquidSonics, SoX
DAC
Chord Electronics Ltd. Qutest
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Sony UBP-X700 /M Ultra HD 4K HDR & PS5
Front Speakers