Sub/Main Phase Alignment Questions

Steell

Registered
Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to REW and acoustic measurements in general. I'm trying to integrate my two subwoofers with my mains. I've selected my crossover filter and am now trying to align the phase at the crossover. Specifically, I'm trying to follow the advice from Rythmik Audio here. Some questions:
  1. When taking phase measurements, should I use an acoustic timing reference? I read in the REW manual that they aren't useful when measuring subwoofers, due to the low frequencies.
  2. Should I measure the phase of the mains in stereo? When measured individually from the listening position, the phases do not perfectly align (about 30 degrees apart according to the measurements)
  3. If the answer to (2) is no, should I phase align the subwoofers to each other first? Or should I individually align them with their respective main?
Thanks, and forgive me if this is pretty basic, I'm trying to learn!

jtalden

More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Marantz AV7705 Pre/Pro
Main Amp
VTV 6 chnl NC252MP P-amp x 2
Additional Amp
Behringer DCX2496 x 2
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
OPPO BDP-103 Universal Player
Front Speakers
DIY SEAS H1456/H1212 Spkr x 5
Subwoofers
DIY JBL 2235H 15" SW x 2
Video Display Device
JVC DLA-X790R
Screen
Da-Lite Da-Snap 39105V - 92"
Info on your specific equipment and room setup is really needed to understand the situation better. There is a wide range of limitations/capabilities depending on the equipment used. I will make some assumptions and comment anyway in case general direction is all that is needed.

Assuming

1. A manual stereo setup.
  2. You prefer a stereo SW setup even though mono is normally recommended.
  3. LP and speaker positioning is
    established and is relatively symmetrical in a small room.
  4. XO setting has been selected and applied with a MiniDSP or similar.
  5. Speaker distances/timing is now based on distance measurements.