Studio monitor calibration - some questions

ColdComfort

Registered
Hi All-

I'm new to REW, and have some questions. I'm helping a friend build out a mixing area around his DAW. He has a home studio that he periodically records bands performing in, and wants to improve his mixing by using studio monitors rather than headphones. I'd like for us to calibrate the monitors using REW, so characterizing them with a calibration mic with the ultimate goal of a monitor-appropriate target curve enabled by a PEQ programmed into his monitors' interface.

By way of background, we're using a Dayton UMM-6 USB mic with 90 degree and 0 degree calibration files, and the monitors are true 2.0 monitors, no sub. The monitors are driven by an interface that we have calibrated via a loopback.

I've been devouring REW guides, forum posts, and videos, and have some questions.
  1. I intend to take monitor measurements at the MLP in triplicate, of the individual and then combined (L+R) speakers. For measuring each speaker individually, I understand that the standard is to point an omnidirectional calibration mic on-axis (0 deg) directly at the speaker. This supposedly reduces the impact of room modes and reflections. But since I will also measure the speakers during combined (L+R) output, how should I orient the mic? On-axis but pointed between them? 90 degrees with the mic pointed to the ceiling? Neither strike me as good, as I'm fundamentally changing the mic orientation with regards to the speakers for the combined L+R measurement. The best option seems to be to take all measurements, even individual speakers, with the mic oriented at 90 degrees while accepting that the room will be convoluted into the measurements (the room is heavily treated as-is, though).