REW Testing For Speaker Design

Kerr Forrest

Registered
Hi,

I am a mechanical engineering student currently working on my Masters project to "design a loudspeaker for a specific listening environment" (my project brief). I plan to design a pair of bookshelf-style passive speakers to use with my amp and turntable set up in a room in my parents house. Because I will be designing the speakers specifically for the acoustics of that room I plan to start by using REW to gather information about the room's sonic characteristics and then work backwards by designing the speakers to hopefully complement the room acoustics as well as possible.

If anyone has any experience in using REW in a similar way (for speaker design rather than, say, working out where best to position existing speakers) I would love to hear your recommendations regarding which features of REW I should look into using and/or the kind of data which is most important for speaker design.

I am completely new to using REW, it was recommended to me by a friend, so I would also appreciate any resources you could point me to to get started.

Cheers,

Kerr.

skid00

More  
Main Amp
2 x Adcom GFA 555
Front Speakers
Carver Amazing Platinum Mark IV
Hi, Kerr.

I strongly recommend you download "room mode calculator". (https://www.harman.com/search-results?k=room+mode+calculator is the one I use.

That will tell you where you need to place the speakers for flattest response, and will give you the frequencies that are reinforced. You could then mod the subwoofer/woofer response.

DanDan

Staff member
Bookshelf speakers have some great possibilities. The original Hi Fi version of the NS10 sounded sweet when benefitting from the LF extension of the wall. The sealed Woofer is fast and has great LF extension.