REW Sweeps Using XOver 40htz vs 250htz Settings

408Revo

Hi, I'm a newbie with REW and trying to understand how the different crossover settings affect a single speaker. Using a Denon with Audyssey turned off and my speaker set to large, I ran two sweeps, one with the crossover set to 250 and another set to 40. I noticed that with a XO at 250, there are more lower frequencies getting through to my speaker than when set to 40 XO. I'm I missing something? From the little I know, my understanding is that when you set a speaker to a certain XO frequency, the dBs start dropping by each octave. I would assume that if I have my XO set at 250, by the time I'm around 30htz I should be close to -24db (assuming its a 12dB/octave)? At 30htz the 250 XO setting is around 6dBs higher than when the setting is set to 40htz.

Am I doing something wrong in REW when taking the measurement? Any help is greatly appreciated. thanks

JStewart

Senior AV Addict
Supporter
Your understanding of how a crossover works is correct.
Measure one speaker at a time.
Any DSP settings must be off (upmixers, downmixers, double bass type settings, whatever else is on that thing!)
Start with full range (no crossover set)
Then do with crossover engaged to compare.
Be sure any sub or subs can’t play a signal.

408Revo

All DSP settings are off and speaker set to large. It's probably just me not able to read the graph correctly or I have a setting on REW that is not allowing to measure? Why would I have higher dBs at 30htz with a 250 XO than 40?

1705279412186.png

1705279457556.png

JStewart

Senior AV Addict
Supporter
Clearly something is not as it should be.
This is probably a matter of semantics ,,,
All DSP settings are off and speaker set to large.
but just in case… a speaker set to large has no XO. Speakers set to “small” utilize a XO.

sm52

Why would I have higher dBs at 30htz with a 250 XO than 40?