problems to detect hdmi output of graphics card in asio drivers

Discussion in 'Official REW (Room EQ Wizard) Support Forum' started by Aitor, Jan 20, 2018.

  1. Aitor

    Aitor New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, it has always worked well for me, rew and asio4all, and yesterday I wanted to put it to measure and in control panel of asio, I do not see the hdmi output of the graphic card that I have connected to my av receiver. I have done everything reinstall the gtx 1080ti drivers, put the different versions of drivers asio4all, (now I have the 2.14 which is the latest version), put different versions of rew ..., I do not know what to do.
    In the control panel of asio drivers if I see the integrated sound card of the motherboard realtek, but the hdmi output of the graphic card, does not appear. On the other hand if I choose java drivers if it appears and works perfectly, but only let me measure 2 channels left and right, and I would like to measure all 5.1, and the only way to do it is with asio drivers.
    The truth for quite some time that does not mediate the response of the room and the computer has had driver updates, windows 10 to top the creators version, surely it is a hogwash, but I do not give with it. Let's see if something similar has happened to someone. I have to say that in everything else the hdmi output works perfectly, I use the computer as a multimedia center.

    Thank you.
     
  2. EarlK

    EarlK Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Your post is quite unclear ( to me at least ) whether or not you have ever successfully run ASIO4all in a 5.1 format ( with this gtx 1080i card ) .

    If not, the problem is most likely you haven't activated the card ( as a choice ) within the ASIO4all control panel.

    How about displaying a pic ( screen shot ) of your ASIO4all control panel ( that would be a good place to start your troubleshooting ).

    [​IMG]

    FYI, the ASIO4all driver requires a WDM driver be present and loaded by the computers OS ( for each & every sound device, such as your gtx 100i card ) before asio4ALL can present it as a useable output ( or input ) within REW .
    - Sometime the problem is that not all external cards come with WDM drivers ( though that's rare ).

    :)
     
    #2 EarlK, Jan 20, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2018
  3. Aitor

    Aitor New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for answering, I am using the English translator, because my English is not too good. I will try to explain myself well, the problem is that the asio4all does not detect the output hdmi of the graphics card, it is an asus gtx 1080ti, it has always worked well for me, but it has not been measured for some time and I put it yesterday and I can not detect it . Only realtek detects me, which is the internal board of the motherboard, and I do not know how to detect it.


    upload_2018-1-21_0-15-25.png
     
  4. EarlK

    EarlK Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    [​IMG]

    ASIO4ALL is not detecting a WDM driver ( for your graphics card ) to present within it's list of possible drivers.

    I'd suggest rolling back the driver for the gtx 1080ti to an older version .

    Also, it's possible that the latest gtx driver isn't compatible with the latest version of ASIO4ALL .
    - You might also need to go back to an older version of ASIO4ALL .

    Also, make sure to reboot your computer to guarantee these updates/changes are actually loaded by the OS.

    :)
     
  5. Aitor

    Aitor New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for everything, you were right.
    Enter the device manager and look for the driver hdmi of the graphics card, I put on the driver and in compatible drivers, the driver that I used before it was a generic windows appeared. I used it for my hdmi output, and it started to work perfectly. He already detects me. The problem has been that nvidia has released new drivers for the hdmi outputs and do not work with ASIO, to see if they solve it.

    thanks for everything.
     
  6. EarlK

    EarlK Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm glad you got it figured out.

    :)
     
  7. Manni

    Manni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has this been solved? Do the Asio4all people know about this? I had the same issue with 390.77 and 391.01 and had to revert to an earlier driver to get Asio4All to detect the HDMI out of the nVidia card. Does anyone have a way to let either Asio4All or nVidia know that something broke with the latest drivers?

    I tried with jRiver and the issue was the same, so it's clearly not a REW issue per se, but REW can't be used with the latest nVidia drivers, at least for some users (apparently it works fine for others, also on Windows 10).

    I'm using Windows 10 pro x64 1709.
     
  8. Manni

    Manni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just to provide a workaround: although Asio4all doesn't work with the latest nVidia drivers (39x.xx), FlexAsio does work fine, at least here. So worth a try if you want to be able to use the latest nVidia drivers with REW. Here is a download link: https://github.com/dechamps/FlexASIO/releases
    I tried a few other options and FlexAsio seems to be the only working one with the latest nVidia drivers.
    I hope that someone can forward this information to the Asio4all people.
     
  9. thexder

    thexder Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have Nvidia 388.59 drivers and Asio4all didn't work here either (Win 7).
    FlexAsio did the job.
    I can't see the type of the mic but the measurements are working.
     

    Attached Files:

    • mic.jpg
      mic.jpg
      File size:
      134.2 KB
      Views:
      219
  10. FargateOne

    FargateOne Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems that this FlexAsio works fine for many who have problems with Asio4all
     
  11. nyt

    nyt Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    While it technically worked, it had some awful ringing and frequency response issues.

    I also have asio4all no longer detecting nvidia hdmi output. This is a bummer.
     
  12. Manni

    Manni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Did you check that the default sampling frequency in the OS (control panel/sound/playback/select nVidia HD Audio/properties/Advanced/Default) is the same as the one set in REW's soundcard preference? They have to match (both at 16bits/48Khz as that's the only frequency supported by FlexAsio) otherwise it could cause the kind of issues you are reporting.
     
  13. nyt

    nyt Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    That was the first thing I checked. In fact, REW doesn't even have anything in the frequency pull down if it's not at 48khz. I was set at 48/16 and there was no joy. Measurements were all over the place, and I could hear audibly that it was not right.
     
  14. Manni

    Manni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Weird, it's working fine here. You might want to report this and get in touch with Flexasio's author, he might be able to help.
     
  15. q2klepto

    q2klepto New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Manni

    Manni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    FYI, the latest nVidia drivers (from 398.11) fix this compatibility issue with Asio4all (but they bring others, of course). I'm still with 385.28, which is the least broken version in my setup (I don't game).
     
  17. q2klepto

    q2klepto New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to know - may downgrade to 385.28 what kinds of problems do 398.11 have?
     
  18. Manni

    Manni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Various issues with 12bits, video levels, HDR in 8bits, at least with my JVC RS500/X7000. Issues with custom refresh rates when created by MadVR. And a few others... Best is to test for your use and see how it works. Good luck!
     
  19. soccerTOOLsu

    soccerTOOLsu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any one know of any other versions of the NVIDIA drivers that allow DENON to show up in the WMD list? I tried the versions on here and no success.
     
  20. edechamps

    edechamps New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, FlexASIO author here. Sorry to revive this thread, but it's one of the first results that come up on Google when searching for "flexasio", so I'm here to clarify things.

    FlexASIO in itself doesn't touch the audio. Neither does PortAudio, aside from sample type conversion, which cannot cause such issues.

    The issues you've experienced look more like you have something messing with your signal in your shared Windows audio pipeline, such as an APO ("enhancements" that come bundled with hardware audio drivers). FlexASIO by default uses a shared backend, just like a normal Windows application, which means it does not bypass the shared Windows audio pipeline. I would suggest adjusting your configuration to use WASAPI Exclusive Mode or WDM-KS, which will not go through the shared pipeline. With such a configuration you should achieve results that are identical to ASIO4ALL in terms of signal integrity.

    I suspect this might also be caused by audio glitching issues, which could potentially confuse REW and mess up the measurements. If you believe that's what's happening, I would suggest increasing the buffer size. If that solves the problem then I would be interested to hear about it, because it probably means the default size is too small and I should increase it.

    In any case, if this doesn't help, do feel free to file a report against FlexASIO and we'll investigate in more detail.
     
    Manni likes this.
  21. Sal1950

    Sal1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with REW not detecting my nVidia GT1030 card as a device. First I tried updating the driver from my 399.24 to the latest 418.81, did a full reboot but still no joy. Then I installed FlexASIO and after a full reboot, yahoo. Now showing 7 channels of speakers and a "Check Levels" puts sound from each when chosen.
    My first post here but I registered to send out a big thanks to everyone who helped contribute to this thread. I searched the web for a while till I found the answers here.
    :jump:
     
  22. Manni

    Manni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Glad it worked for you. FlexAsio is great and works fine here. I take this opportunity to thank edechamps for providing this to us, and for the explanations above.

    Just to say that the OS version is part of this incompatibility with Asio4All. I'm on 1809 now and Asio4All is working again with nVidia's latest drivers (At least with 417.71).

    So if it doesn't work for you, consider updating the OS as well as trying different drivers.

    385.28 worked with Asio4all on all OS versions, but maybe nVidia had issues with 1803 and/or 1806 that got fixed in 1809.

    Nice to have two options now anyway, as I like Flexasio's ability to name the channels. Much easier to remember which is which!
     
    Sal1950 likes this.

Share This Page