No bass output from Laptop

Keladrin

Registered
Hi. I'm new to REW
, using a Dell Latitude 7290 laptop running Windows 10 with Realtek Audio selected as the output (Java). but I am getting zero to now bass output below around 200Hz. Bass is around 40 db down in measurement curves, regardless of what I am measuring and proximity of USB mic (which has been calibrated). I have tried various preference setting to no avail. The output above 200Hz looks realistic but below this falls off rapidly then strangely starts to rise again below 10hz. I know my room has a 40hz resonance but am seeing at least 50db down at this frequency. Can't hear any low frequencies in the freq sweep at all. Is it the soundcard?

Keladrin

Registered
Connected to a Cambridge Audio A1 MK3 amp via headphone socket on laptop to phono in. I've tried 2 amps actually, same results.

Kal Rubinson

Connected to a Cambridge Audio A1 MK3 amp via headphone socket on laptop to phono in. I've tried 2 amps actually, same results.
Don't use phono input! It incorporates unnecessary gain and wildly inappropriate EQ for your application. Don't you have another "line level" input available?

John Mulcahy

REW Author
I suspect 'phono' may just mean what you'd call an RCA connector, Kal, I don't think that amp has inputs for MC/MM cartridges.

You can plug some headphones in to check what is being produced. If there is no low end some things to check are the sweep start frequency and whether any audio 'enhancements' are being applied to the headphone output. If you look on the Enhancements tab of the Windows audio properties for the output you are using there should be a check box to disable all enhancements.

ddude003

AV Addict
Somewhere Northeast of Kansas City Missouri
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
PrimaLuna Dialogue Premium TubePre (2 channel+sub)
Main Amp
McIntosh MC152 SS Amp (2 channel)
Additional Amp
Yamaha RX-A850 Pro (the other 5 channels lol)
Computer Audio