Mean Girls

front.jpg
Movie: :3.5stars:
4K Video: :4stars:
Video:
Audio: :3.5stars:
Extras: :3stars:
Final Score: :3.5stars:

AV NIRVANA is member and reader-supported. When you purchase an item using our links, we might earn an affiliate commission.

1.jpg
Movie

Is it really 20 years ago that Mean Girls came out? Ugggg, it seems 2004 IS that far away. That was the year I graduated college. The year I got married to my lovely wife, and the year I got my first “real” job. Now I have silver hitting my beard, looking at 20 year anniversary films and realizing that I was a kid when they all came out, and that I no longer stayed up till 2:00 AM hanging out with friends, but rather like going to bed at 9:00 PM. All kidding aside, it’s great to see the classic Lindsey Lohan and Tina Fey comedy finally getting a new encode, and just in time for the remake.

15 year old Cady Heron (Lindsay Lohan) has just moved to a new school for the first time. Pretty typical of most teenagers who move around, but for Cady it’s a bit different. Here parents lived in Africa for most of her life, so she was home schooled for her entire life until this point in her existence. That means that she’s not only having her first day of a new school, but a first day AT school in general. Blending in is hard enough when you’re new, but being a newbie at EVERYTHING to do with school leaves one a bit on the outside. Finding solace in the school “losers” Janis (Lizzy Caplan) and Damian (Daniel Franzese, Cady does her best to fit in. Out of sheer boredom the “plastics” (e.g., the hot snooty girl cliques) invite Cady over to their table, which gives Janis the perfect idea. Since Cady is the new “hot” girl, she can infiltrate the plastics and unveil their inner demons to the whole school.