Mac setup for dummies?

Jazzman53

Hello all,
This is my first post here and I'm completely new to REW. Also, being a computer illiterate old guy, learning to use REW is for me a daunting proposition. I'm wanting to use it to tune a DIY hybrid electrostatic speaker I just finished. I think I over-tensioned the diaphragms a bit because I hear a nasty resonance which I will need to identify and mitigate with a notch filter.

I have a Macbook Pro, a Behringer ECM-8000 microphone, Behringer PS400 phantom power supply and an XLR to USB cable to connect the MacBook to the mic. I also have a Behringer DCX2496 and DEQ2496.

I have a couple of initial questions about the connections for REW:
1. The PS400 isn't a preamp, just a phantom power supply.. can I run the measurement sweeps from the Mac's earphone out?
2. I've read that REW setup requires doing a feedback loop and initial sweep to establish a time reference. The PS 400 has only mic in and mic thru connections -- no other ins/outs that could be used for a feedback loop. What are my options for the timing reference?

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Yes, the headphone out can be used.

REW setup does not require a loopback, and it isn't essential to perform soundcard calibration - one of the main purposes of that is to make sure there isn't any monitoring enabled. If you need a timing reference for your measurements the Acoustic Timing Reference option could be used.

Jazzman53

Thanks John for answering that question.

Now I have another:

I've been doing some more reading in the REW setup guide and I think it says therein that the Behringer ECM8000 mic requires a phantom power supply with a preamp. It also says that a USB mic can be plugged directly into a MacBook and this would negate having to calibrate an external sound card.