Loopback frequency response plot off by one order of magnitude

sekim

Registered
First order high pass filter device with 2.6K cutoff frequency was measured by analog oscilloscope and by RMAA software in loopback mode and both methods confirm 2.6K cutoff.

REW (5.20 rc9) plots the same device as having a 260 Hz cutoff frequency when using the loopback calibration mode (using dB full scale).

John Mulcahy

REW Author
There isn't a loopback calibration mode for measuring. A loopback calibration of measurement output to measurement input can be used to compensate for the measurement system roll-offs. When measuring there is a loopback timing reference option to establish the t=0 position for the measurement. For your filter measurement it is probably easiest to attach the mdat file for us to look at.

sekim

Registered
My apologies, I'm relatively new to your software and was going off a YouTube where they explained how they used your software to measure a device patched in loopback. They used your soundcard calibration feature, which seems ideal with is wizard workflow and the fact the only need is for a sine sweep frequency response plot. The issue I encountered can be reproduced by doing Preferences>Soundcard>Calibrate soundcard>Next>Next>Next>Next and then on SPL & Phase tab select dBFS for left axis for the plot (of course after patching in a device to test). But if there is a better way to do this, I'll try it out. All of that said, the graph generated by the above workflow appears fine except that the frequency values are low by a factor of 10 compared to analog oscilloscope and RMAA. I would think its still an issue even using this feature only for its intended purpose of creating a soundcard compensation profile.