Main Amp
Threshold T200
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
OPPO BDP-105
Front Speakers
Aerial Acoustics 7Ts
Subwoofers
Velodyne (old)
I am new at some of this so please excuse me if these questions have been answered elsewhere.

I have played with stereo for 45 years. For many years, my speakers were Dahlquist DQ10s (acoustic suspension bass). They had decent sounding bass. I also have a Velodyne F-1200-B that I sometimes used with them.

Several years ago I replaced the DQ-10s with Aerial Acoustics 7Ts (rear ported). Everything above bass is better than the DQ-10s, but I have never been happy with the bass with the 7Ts in my room. A while ago, I bought an UMIK-1 and began playing with REW software and moving the sub around.

Last week, I received a Rythmik F12G and began further playing. Using both subs, I can obtain a nice flat bass response according to REW. But the bass sounds very weak.

I must be missing some basic psychoacoustic fact that maybe someone here can help me with. Why does a nice flat frequency response at my listening position, sound terrible in the bass region?

Thanks

Sonnie

Senior Admin
Staff member
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
StormAudio ISP Elite 24 MK3 Processor
Main Amp
McIntosh MC1.25KW Monoblock Amps
Additional Amp
StormAudio PA 16 MK3
Computer Audio
Intel NUC w/ Roon ROCK
Panasonic UB9000 4K UHD Player (for media discs)
Front Speakers
RTJ 410
Center Channel Speaker
MartinLogan Focus C-18
Front Wide Speakers
JTR Neosis 110HT
Surround Speakers
JTR Neosis 210RT
Surround Back Speakers
JTR Neosis 210RT
Front Height Speakers
JTR Neosis 110HT-SL
Rear Height Speakers
JTR Neosis 110HT-SL
Subwoofers
JTR Captivator 2400 x6
Other Speakers or Equipment
VTI Amp Stands for the Monoblocks
Video Display Device
Sony 98X90L
Remote Control
Universal MX-890
Streaming Equipment
Kaleidescape | FireCube | Lenova X1 - Intel NUC for Roon
Streaming Subscriptions
Lifetime Roon Subscription
Tidal
qobuz
Netflix
Amazon Prime
Satellite System
Dish Joey 4K