Home Studio Waterfall Interpretation Help and Bass Trapping

ali.tabibnejad

Registered
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Audient ID4
Front Speakers
Presonus Eris 3.5
I have been setting up a home studio and I am very new to REW. I have a very small, oddly shaped room (2.25m X 3.1m X 2.1m). I have the speakers set up in the room on the diagonal. I have 12 bass traps that I don't quite where to place. I am not positive if they have made any difference. Two questions: I am getting variations between back to back tests (4Post1-3) and from day to day (4Post4 is from yesterday right after having put up the traps). 4Post5 is before the traps (be sure to note that it goes to 300ms and is set up slightly differently than the rest). I would appreciate any insight into why I am seeing these variations and what I can do to treat the modes around 70Hz, etc. Are the traps making ANY difference?

Attachments

• 4Post3.jpg
    4Post3.jpg
    71 KB · Views: 120
  • 4Post2.jpg
    4Post2.jpg
    72.1 KB · Views: 119
  • 4Post1.jpg
    4Post1.jpg
    71.1 KB · Views: 106
  • 4Post5.jpg
    4Post5.jpg
    71.7 KB · Views: 117
  • 4Post4.jpg
    4Post4.jpg
    72.4 KB · Views: 113

Chuck Zwicky

Here is a simple experiment you might find helpful:

1: Determine the frequency of the main mode in the room by zooming the waterfall display in such a way that you can identify it's actual frequency clearly.
2: Tune the signal generator to that frequency, and fine tune it until you land on the exact frequency of that mode.
3: Walk around the room and note where that frequency is the loudest and where it is the quietest and mark these positions with tape.
4: Place the bass traps where the mode is loudest and then re-sweep the room.
5: Next, place the bass traps where the mode is quietest and then re-sweep the room, look at the waterfall and compare with your original sweep and with the results from step 4.
6: Let us see what you discover..!

ola1

Ali