Sony 85 inch X950H FALD TV
Halo: Season One

Movie: :3.5stars:
Video: :4.5stars:
Audio: :4stars:
Extras: :5stars:
Final Score: :4stars:

Movie

I’m quite literally the perfect target for the Halo show. I was a brand new freshman in college when myself and other computer science majors were talking about this revolutionary new first person shooter coming out called Halo. It had been in active development for a few years by a small company called Bungie, and then suddenly in 2000 Microsoft bought them out and our wild fantasies about a game changing FPS were dashed when we figured it was going to be corproatized and destroyed from the Microsoft acquisition. Well, come my sophomore year just before winter break and Microsoft releases the game, and it turns out to be a killer FPS. Maybe not as great as our teenage minds had hyped it up to be, but it was a LOT of fun in multiplayer mode. Then there were the years of playing Halo 2 on the original Xbox, literally screaming across the house at my friends as we hooked up multiple systems to play via LAN (if you grew up in those times nothing was more rage inducing than locking on with the sword and having someone shotgun you in the face mid swing, or the shrieking whine of a missile lobbed across the other side of the map as it somehow magically hit you right in the chest). Halo 3 and Reach were when I was starting to phase out of the games, but the latest several games pulled me back in with a rather solid storyline. Thus you can be sure I was one of those nerdy 40 year olds instantly re-living those early 20 somethings of my youth when I saw the press release for the show.