Correct settings for Non-Asio software -> jriver -> Audiolense Convolver

Medister

I have RME UFXII, Audiolense XO, 6channel filter.

I have used the following setttings (I have a well specd stationary PC) :

Jriver: Options>General>check the WDM Driver option, Option>Audio>Audio Device> choose Audiolense and choose 100milliseconds buffering.
Audiolense Convolver> Force Soundcard and convolver buffersize to 512

It kind of works, but everytime I put on an new song in Tidal it stutters and I loose the first seconds of the song.
Does my settings look ok, have I missed something?

And for all non ASIO software I dont see the benefit of using the Audiolense Convolver, isnt it better to just load the filter straight into jrivers convolver? now I need to run even one more app.

Screenshot 2024-04-26 190604.png
Screenshot 2024-04-26 190700.png

juicehifi

Audiolense
Staff member
Hi Medister,

I don’t have Tidal, so I have no experience with this interface. But doesn’t Tidal support Asio streaming? If so, perhaps you should try to connect it directly with Audiolense Convolver and see if that makes a change.

Apart from that: Jriver has the best and most sturdy and stable Asio streaming capabilities I’ve ever seen. And it has by far the best Asio interface that Audiolense Convolver has seen too. Matt Ashland who is responsible for this part of JRiver is a genius as far as I’m concerned. He does things fast and exceptionally well.

I used JRiver extensively when I made the convolver. The Asio implementation in JRiver is textbook. So I got spoiled. A lot of the enthusiast players have serious issues. And that’s when workarounds are needed.

Having said that … maybe a change of
buffer settings or how songs are phased in and out in Jriver could make a difference here.