Yamaha RXA680 YPAO question

i_BUILD

I am fairly new to the real home theater world... I have 4 subs in my system and studied and implemented a DSP over the last few weeks. I have the subs positioned for the best response in my room and have applied EQ to where I like it, Whenever I run YPAO placing the YPAO mic in the same exact position as my UMIK1 YPAO is off 1-2 db on average from keeping all speakers at the same reference level so I have to re-adjust. In addition; on the A680, for my setup the mains and center are always flipped to Large after running YPAO.

I end up having to flip them back to small in order to take advantage of my sub setup. The A680 has a UI that is different than the more expensive models as one of the lower end avantage receivers. When I go into the settings option for EQ either PEQ is selected (after running YPAO) and there are no options to configure as it is protected... or GEQ is available which can be manually set... or simply OFF.

YPAO appears to have full control of PEQ and as I mentioned as part of running YPAO my mains and center are set to large. By me swicthing to small is it invalidating the PEQ settings that YPAO is making that I cant even see?

Also I have to tweak the subwoofer distance in order to get the crossover point to look right... probably because YPAO is setting the mains and center to large and dealing with crossover differently.

Short of getting another receiver... has anyone had success with a similar setup? If so what was your approach?

Todd Anderson

Editor / Senior Admin
Staff member
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
StormAudio ISP.24 MK2
Main Amp
Emotiva XPA-5
Additional Amp
Emotiva XPA Gen3 2.8 multichannel amp
Other Amp
Denon X8500H
Computer Audio
AudioEngine A2+
DAC
THX ONYX
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Kaleidescape TERRA, OPPO UDP-203, Panasonic UB9000
Front Speakers
GoldenEar Technology Triton One.R
Center Channel Speaker
GoldenEar Technology SuperCenter Reference
Surround Speakers