Weird problem doing REW measurements? Help needed!

andyr

Registered
I've been using REW for a few years - but am certainly not an expert user.

But I've successfully measured frequency sweeps on several occasions (to set relative driver volumes in my active spkrs) and never previously had the problem I am about to describe. Which has me absolutely stumped! :frown:

I was wanting to do a sweep from 20 - 200Hz in the R channel (ie. across the XO region of sub to woofer).

I started off with sub off and woofer amp on; the LP filter for the sub was bypassed, in the miniDSP plug-in - as was the HP filter for the woofer. (So they were each running full range.)

I clicked on the "Measure" icon on the REW screen - then clicked 'Start". Result was a graph of the woofer response over the range 20 - 200Hz ... as I've done many times before.

Then I turned on the sub and turned off the woofer amp. Clicking on "Measure" and "Start" ... the result was also a graph - this time of the sub's response! :)

IOW - things were working as expected!

But then, a short time later, trying subsequent sweeps with just the sub turned on ... I could not get any sound from the sub! :frown:

But the sub would play the radio when it was selected as the input into my miniDSP - it's only when the Steinberg UR242 was selected (to create the sweep) that I got zero sound out of the sub.

Can anyone suggest where I might've gone wrong?

Thanks,
Andy

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Did you select the UR242 as the output device in REW? If you left the output as Default device the default may have changed.

andyr

Registered
Aah, thanks, John.

No, I don't remember ever actually selecting the output device - so I will try that soon, when I start measuring again.

Thank you for the suggestion! :T

Andy

andyr

Registered
John,

"Output" is greyed out ... so I have no ability to make a selection?