Cambridge Audio Minx 12
Subwoofers
B&W PV1 D
Screen
Loewe Art 50
Remote Control
Loewe Assist
Hi all,

I'm a mechanical engineer looking to do some acoustic analysis of a small device.

I cant declare what it is that I am working on due to confidentiality, but I have a pretty solid analogy for it.

Imagine a train conductors whistle, which has a cork ball in it to create that signature oscillating sound that the Acme thunderer has (google it if you don't know).

I have a vacuum pump applying constant suction to the whistle at different flow rates (tunable by me); the vacuum pump sounds like a traditional hoover (because that's where I got the motor from).

So... here's my problem...

I want to try to quantify the frequency of the oscillation of the cork ball in the whistle - or at the very least, be able to discern if it is or isn't oscillating, and perhaps some measure of its intensity.

The vacuum motor is very close and hence there is a lot of background noise, but I know for sure that when I get the oscillation there is a new peak at around 11KHz, that changes in shape dependent on the speed of the oscillation. but how can I use REW to remove that vacuum noise?

I could do a recording for a minute at a time for example and take averages, or whatever it takes, but I've never really used this kit before or done any type of serious spectral analysis.

P.S I'm using a Dayton Audio UMM 6 mic with the calibration file.

Any and all help is welcome and appreciated, but please keep it simple for me :)

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Staff member
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Yamaha CX-A5000 A/V Preamp / Processor
Main Amp
Yamaha RX-Z9 AV Receiver (as multichannel amp)
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Denon DCT-3313 UDCI Universal Disc Player
Front Speakers
Canton Karat 920
Center Channel Speaker
Canton Karat 920
Front Wide Speakers
Realistic Minimus 7 (front EFX speakers)
Surround Speakers
Canton Plus D
Surround Back Speakers