Timing Ref Signal not audible/detectable anymore

graefell

Registered
Hi all,

I have been using REM for over two years in combination with MSO, MiniDSP, UMIK-1 and three subs in my 7.1 system.
Until last Saturday not one single issue ever occured, thanks to you folks and your guides and valuable hints for REW.

What happened:
I got new surrounds and wanted to check the latest meaurements taken Dec 29th to figure out wether the new surrounds need adujstments since they show a slightly different X-over on paper and I had to move the one of the subs.

I was not able to make reliable measurements using an acoustig timing reference since the typical "chirp" at 5kHz was not audible/detectable, neither in the realtime graph nor by my ears.
Once in while a kind of a cranky clicking noise instead totally off the chirp was observed as the timing ref but I did not rely on that noise.

I could verify the old measuremrents and they are more or less the same, but new meaurements for the subwoofers with timing were impossible.

Mostly seen in REM measurement window :.....waiting for timing reference.......

Measurements, sounds sent to the NAD, leveling the speakers all worked but not the timing reference with the nice "chirp".

After 5h of unsuccessful trials, driver/software deinstallation, instaIlation and updates , I gave up very frustrated.

It is the same hardware with the same preferences compared December when I could conduct the last measurements :
HP spectre with Win11, FlexAsio (Asio4all never worked for me), NAD T778, Umik-1, two different 4k HDMI cables.

Well, some Win11 updates were done, though.

I can't enclose any prints from my preferences at the moment but still hope that someone can help me with that missing timing reference sound.

Thanks in advance
Andy

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Which channel was selected as the reference output? Difficult to say much without seeing settings.

graefell

Registered
Hi John,