Room EQ Comparison

AustinJerry

If I have Audy XT32, is it worth it to upgrade my AVR just to get Anthem ARC?

I don't know, not being familiar with ARC. But I can definitely say that upgrading to a processor that supports Dirac Live with Dirac Bass Control will definitely get you a better sounding room correction.

Eric SVL

More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Denon AVR-X4500H
Main Amp
Hypex NCore NC252MP
Computer Audio
iLoud MTM
DAC
Micca OriGen G2
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Sony PS3, PS4
Front Speakers
Buchardt S400
Surround Speakers
Polk LSiM 702
Front Height Speakers
Focal Chorus OD 706 V
Rear Height Speakers
Focal Chorus OD 706 V
Subwoofers
Rythmik
Other Speakers or Equipment
ELAC Debut Reference DFR52
Screen
Samsung PN64H5000
Streaming Equipment
Google Chromecast
Streaming Subscriptions
GIK Tri-Traps
If I have Audy XT32, is it worth it to upgrade my AVR just to get Anthem ARC?
I have no experience with ARC, but it would have to have something like Dynamic EQ for me to consider switching to another room EQ system.

CHFels

More  
Arcam SR250
Marantz UD7007
Front Speakers
Spendor Classic 3/1
I have no experience with ARC, but it would have to have something like Dynamic EQ for me to consider switching to another room EQ system.

As this post goes to show, it all depends on how you use Audyssey and how happy you are with the results. If you have Dynamic EQ switched on at all times and don't like the sound without it, then probably neither ARC nor Dirac will make you happy (or at least, it would take you a while to adjust). On the other hand if you sometimes listen to music without Audyssey engaged at all, and value audiophile things like pinpoint imaging, soundstage depth, vocal purity and so on, then maybe you would be happier with an Anthem or Lyngdorf or Arcam or NAD. In addition to the superior room correction, all of these tend to be better-sounding amps in the first place than anything from Denon or Marantz that sports XT32.

Eric SVL

More