REW on Linux with USB ADAC not operational

tombarclay

Registered
More  
DAC
YellowTec PUC2
System : LinuxMint20.2
ADAC : Yellowtec PUC2

Problem, Plug in USB ADAC and its seen by system as usb device (in terminal > lsusb to print out usb address etc) but REW does not see the device in the preferences soundcard tab.
What do I need to do the connect the device to the application ? Any help appreciated.

John Mulcahy

REW Author
I am no Linux expert so can't help, but Pavel posted this in another forum which may be relevant: REW is programmed in java which supports only alsa in linux (no PA nor jackd), and enumerates cards only (i.e. devices listed by aplay -l). The alsa javasound layer does not list PCM devices (listed by aplay -L), e.g. those defined in .asoundrc.

jschwender

More  
Front Speakers
Nubert digital pro
Other Speakers or Equipment
Philips dss940
please check the output of the following commands: arecord -l and aplay -l
Check the alsa modules loaded by cat /proc/asound/modules
(run this as logged in user in a terminal window or on a console).

tombarclay

Registered
More  
DAC
YellowTec PUC2
Thanks for all your replies. Having beat my head against the issue for a couple of days my conclusion is that its not (yet) suitable for a Linux deployment. John Mulchay's reply somewhat confirms this. I have decided to us it under Windows for the time being.
As an aside I have played around with Ubuntu Studio ,(as it claims to be fully configured for Audio work), to try and understand the issues of using my YellowTech USB card within that framework. Eventually I hope to understand the config issues with ALSA, JACK and PULSAUDIO layers etc to revisit the REW question. It seems to me that adding a Java JACK layer would be a way to go ... but I guess that is for the future. Thanks again. ... Tom

jschwender

More  
Front Speakers
Nubert digital pro
Philips dss940