REW Measurements sweeps not limited to frequencies defined. Intermittent distortion noted.

Zedns7

Registered
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Denon x440h
Front Speakers
KEF Q300
Center Channel Speaker
KEF Q600
Hello All!
I am a newbie at REW. I have been playing with it for a week. These questions will probably be followed by others. I have done freq. response testing of outdoor speakers and Subwoofers outdoors and am now doing in situ tests.

While conducting these tests I was doing a measurement from 15 Hz to 200 Hz and I happened to have the tone generator window open at the same time. I noticed that the generator was actually showing which frequencies were being presented to the subwoofer during the sweep and even though I set it to start at 15 it started at 0 Hz! This also seems to be somewhat the case when I do pink noise tests. If I limit the pink noise from 20 Hz to 200 Hz, I still see frequencies under that being reproduced at very reduced amplitude. I have also noticed that if I first define a measured sweep in the generator and then do a measurement then it does adhere to the limits of the defined sweep, but this should not be required. Am I doing something wrong?

Also, some times I have noticed that the test signal distorts. This happens out of nowhere and is fixed by changing the outputs in the "Preferences" window. ALl I have to do is switch the output and then switch it back and then the distortion goes away. I save my speakers from the distorted signal by monitoring the acoustic reference, which itself is distorted when this occurs. Any ideas what may be happening? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

John Mulcahy

REW Author
You can find the description of the measurement sweep in the signal generator and measurement help. The signal generator also describes the filtering for the random noise signals. If you need brickwall filter characteristics use the pink periodic noise signal.