Repeatable accuracy of levels for drivers measurements

Zoltan

Registered
Hi Guys,

Before everything else I have to announce that I am a beginner in REW but also in the concept of acoustic measurements, I have the following equipment :

• Behringer UMC204HD
  • Dayton AudioEMM-6
  • T.Amp PM40C amplifier
  • And all the cables in between including the loopback

I have made some search but without finding very clear solutions to my problem.

To make sure that every-time I use REW to make measurements of a driver that I am at precisely the same level, how would you proceed ?
But before you tell me I have to say that leaving the potentiometers (Audio Interface and Amplifier) at the same position is not possible :nono:

To me the best would be a solution to make sure that my high level output at the amplifier are at 2.83V, but connecting a multi-meter give me nothing or inaccurate when signal is present, I did not find anything on google that I trust or that seem to work.

This way I would have the correct sensitivity scaling between the drivers I measure

Also I don't have an external dB meter besides a phone app, only if that is absolutely necessary I could buy one.

Can you walk me trough your workflow?

Thanks

Grayson Dere

Staff member
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Integra DTR 7.8
Main Amp
Class D Audio: SDS-470CS
Additional Amp
Shellbrook Audio Hybrid Head headphone amp
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Sony UBP-X700
Front Speakers
Vandersteen Model 2
Subwoofers
SVS PB-2000
Other Speakers or Equipment
Grado SR 325is headphones
Video Display Device
JVC DLA-X75
Screen
Elite Screen 120"
Streaming Subscriptions
Origin Live Aurora MKIII turntable
Hi Zoltan,

This is an interesting procedure you have on hand. I am trying to fully understand...you mention the potentiometers can't
be set at the same position during testing. Does this mean your gain/output is always varying? Please correct my misunderstanding.

Thanks! : )

Zoltan

Registered
Hi,