Reduce Sub Alignment Complexity By Centering 2-Seat Couch on Center Channel?

kalakasan

Registered
I'm in the preliminary throes of learning how to tune my recently finished 7.4.4 "modest" theater room (2100 cu feet). Since I've never done this before, I'm trying to be patient and read as much as I can on the various approaches to the subject, but to be honest, so far much of it is over my head. I do have REW up and running on an older i3 Acer laptop, although try as I might, I cannot get it to work with ASIO4all. So I'm using Java at the moment, not sure if that's enough to properly align my 4 VBSS subs.

As I glanced around the room this evening, it struck me that by moving my 2-seat couch centered on the center speaker, both seat occupants would have an equal sonic experience - but probably not as good as having one seat centered on axis. However, given what can be done with apps like REW and others (MSO), perhaps the difference would be negligible? Is my intuition wrong on this idea?

John Mulcahy

REW Author
You can get a good idea of the nature of the low frequency changes using REW's room simulator. With a single subwoofer low frequency behaviour is better off the central axis to avoid the modal nulls that occur along it, but with a pair of subs placed symmetrically across the width there is very little effect from moving to either side below a couple of hundred Hz.

kalakasan

Registered
Thanks for the reply.

I posted the message below on AVSforum and didn't receive any replies, so I'm posting it here, hopefully with better results:

I've also been struggling as others have with getting ASIO4all to work in REW. I'm on an old Acer laptop, with the latest Windows 10 updates. I've plied through the detailed ASIO setup in the guide, including troubleshooting steps to no avail. I attempted this several months ago with a total of 3 laptops (old and new) with the same negative result, but thought I'd give it another go since I hate the feeling of defeat.