Procedure for measuring different convolution engines

Keith_W

Hello guys, and thanks for the great software. I have been using it for years. Please excuse my ignorance. I do not have a background in pro audio. I am a consumer audio hobbyist. I bought a RME Fireface UC to help implement my 8 channel home stereo.

Background of my problem: I am running a pair of four way speakers in stereo. I generate crossover filters using Acourate, then use a convolution engine to send 8 channels of digital into an 8 channel DAC. From there, it goes to 8 channels of power amplification, and then to each driver.

Subjectively, the convolution engines I am using (HQPlayer and Acourate Convolver) sound different even though they are running the same filters. They continue to sound different even after being level matched with a handheld SPL meter.

I want to measure the output of HQPlayer and compare it to Acourate Convolver, preferably before the signal undergoes DA conversion to find out if I am imagining things or it is real.

What I want to know is: how do I do this.

1. I will be using (REW) to generate the log sweeps and to take the measurements. Setup of REW seems simple enough. All I need to do is run a pre-recorded sweep through each convolution engine using this procedure: https://www.avnirvana.com/threads/can-rew-measure-a-pre-recorded-sweep.599/#post-6391

2. The main issue is that both convolution engines will be using the SAME ASIO output that REW will be using for its input. I don't know enough about RME Totalmix to know how to configure it to make this possible.

The relevant section in the manual (on page 71) says:

"Recording a Software's playback
In real world application, recording a software's output with another software will show the following problem: The record software tries to open the same playback channel as the playback software (already active), or the playback one has already opened the input channel which should be used by the record software.