Measurement difference OSX vs Windows 10 home

MartF

Registered
I'm a REW newbie, but have had some success measuring my system using a mac mini. Recently I wanted to change to a windows laptop and cannot get the measure to show the sub 100Hz output as did the OSX system. My set up is simple - U-MIC and a USB out to my DAC. The two measures are shown below - I simply changed USB feeds into each computer, mic in same position, pre amp vol the same, note I have no av system components implementing a low pass crossover yet the Windows 10 output appears to be subjected to a steep roll off. I'm sure the answer is extremely obvious... but any advice or tips gratefully accepted.

Attachments

• rew osx v w10.jpg
    rew osx v w10.jpg
    40.6 KB · Views: 10

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Make sure the Windows laptop isn't set up for a sub, see this link for related info, you may need to configure your device as Stereo if it is somehow set as a 2.1 or surround device.

MartF

Registered
John, thanks for the quick response. I have gone through all the available settings and the problem persists. Here is a shot of the setup - as you see, the soundcard has no sub / other speaker options and I have set the output to 'full range'. I take it many users are able to use Windows 10 with the Realtek soundcard option? I could try reloading the Realtek software

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Strange stuff. If the laptop has a line input you could try looping the DAC output back to the line input to see how that measures, could also make a loopback measurement of the laptop's headphone output back to the laptop's line input. If you post the mdat file for the measurements I can see if anything else looks odd.

MartF

Registered