Loudspeaker design measurements - problem with loop-back as timing reference

Mensink

More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Dutch & Dutch 8c
Hi guys!

I'm considering switching from ARTA to REW for doing measurements for speaker design. I've been using REW for in-room measurements for a few years now, but I'm finally ready to make a full switch. But I'm running into a challenge that I can't get around. I'm probably missing something obvious. Anyway, I believe AVNirvana to be the best forum to ask for help regarding REW, so here goes!

Today I've been playing around, trying to do measurements with a proper time reference. In ARTA I always used a loopback measurement and I wanted to try the same with REW. What I need is a fixed time reference. That enables me to estimate the relative propagation delays of the drivers to the mic, to remove excess phase, and thus to get reliable phase measurements of the drivers in their enclosures.

I'm using a Focusrite 2i2 audio interface. One output goes to the amp, and the other is looped back to one of the two inputs on the front. The second input is fed the microphone signal.

I'm measuring indoors today. The speaker is a standmount with a woofer on the front and one on the back. The speaker is positioned about midway between the floor and the 2.60m ceiling, the mic is about 60 cm from the speaker. I'm measuring on the main axis, i.e. 0 degrees.

Attachment 1 - Make a measurement
First, I measure the front woofer.

Attachment 2 - Gating the measurement
I set the gating such that I get a clean frequency response without reflections. In this particular setup, that's an about 4.5 ms window after the first arrival of the impulse..

Attachment 3 - Estimate IR delay
Then I estimate the Impulse Response delay (IR delay), to remove the excess phase. I shift and update the timing reference, in order for the next measurement to have the same time reference.

Attachment 4 - SPL & Phase