Impulse Response - How to?

jsalinasii

Registered
I have been using the RTA features on REW for a couple of years now and feel comfortable doing that. One thing that I am having a very difficult time understanding or performing is a time alignment check using impulse responses in REW. Quick and dirty I simply don't know how to set it up or perform it. I am simply looking for a second verification that my tape measured DSP delays are correct.

I have many questions and I don't want to waste any persons time but the way I understand it is I send a signal from my computer output (toslink, or analog) through my system, I have my UMIK-1 set at signal point and that mic is supposed to pick up the first signal. Since the computer is sending the signal it has a reference as to when it was sent and the microphone knows when it was received (pitcher/catcher scenario). What I don't understand is why the numbers I receive from REW are so large ie 20 MS of delay for a car cab. I am clearly doing it all wrong so:

1. Do I use the loopback as timing selection or something else?
2. Do I use a frequency range of like 1 hertz?
3. Can I even do this with only a USB mic and my laptop's output?

Any help is appreciated.

John Mulcahy

REW Author
To make timing measurements you need a timing reference. With a USB mic that requires REW's acoustic timing reference, but it may not be reliable in a car as there are so many strong reflections. An alternative for aligning the individual drivers for a channel is to look at the wavelet spectrogram, as discussed in this post.

jsalinasii

Registered
John,

First great name. Second thank very much for taking the time to respond. To best use wavelet I watched the video and I think I set it up the way Matt has it setup. I have crossovers at 5500, 200, and 70 hertz. Here is the wavelet graph I get from my previous all speakers firing sweep.