Hi I'm Matt

Matthew J Poes

AV Addict
Hi Everyone, I'm Matt. I live in the Chicagoland area and hope to meet other like minded individuals. I used to participate in the DIYAudio Forum, AVSForum, and Home Theater Shack but have really lost interest in a lot of those forums. While I still post on AVS, its very limited.

I recently completed a dedicated soundproof home theater and have been working on the acoustics over the last few months. I hope to share my work and results as it goes.

I'm a social scientist, of sorts, with a background in human development and statistics. I've also taken courses in acoustics, acoustical physics, acoustical engineering, and acoustical architecture over the years to expand my knowledge, and while I don't work in that field professionally, very much enjoy it. Having said that, I have a small side business doing acoustic measurement, treatment design, soundproofing, and some installation. So far I've done mostly commercial spaces such as offices, hotels, conference spaces, universities, etc. I have a few home theater clients and hope to do more. While extra money is always nice, I really do it for the fun. I love music, movies, and learning how to reproduce these in new and better ways.

Current Setup

Video:
JVC RS1 Projector
Spandex Screen on SI Screen Frame (Previously used Black Diamond)
Sony UBP X800 UHD BR Player

Audio:
Onkyo TX-NR709 (Some capacitors replaced, opamps replaced, resistors on pre-out, etc.)
Acurus A200 Amplifier
Crown DSI4000
Laptop with Tidal (HDMI Digital Connection)
Acoustic solid turntable
Grado Phono Cartridge (wood body, forget exact model)
Rega RB250 Tonearm