Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within

Movie: :4stars:
4K Video: :4.5stars:
Video: :4.5stars:
Audio: :4.5stars:
Extras: :4.5stars:
Final Score: :4.5stars:

Movie

I remember straight up HATING Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within back when it came out in 2001. I was a sophomore in college and playing through Final Fantasy VII at the time on legacy consoles, and got a little butthurt that it was “Final Fantasy enough!” and instead chose to just take the name and a few character ideas and create it’s own unique story. Years later it became one of the first Blu-rays on the market for Sony and one of their big demo discs in a time when most Blu-rays were barely moderate upgrades over the DVD counterparts (there’s a reason a lot of those 2007-2008 Blu-rays have all been re-done by the studios with remasters) and I remember forcing myself to revisit the movie. Color me surprised but after putting my preconceptions down and taking a break from the subject matter I was able to look at the film in a new light. Is it a great Final Fantasy flick? Not in my personal opinion. But it is a fun sci-fi action romp that does a lot better than many of the other Sony CGI animated films (such as the Resident Evil or Starship Troopers animated films) taken from games.