Can't start IR Windows in REW for Linux- video card setting problem?

K

keithostertag

I'm new to speaker building, and so new to REW as well. I am using REW on a Linux setup, details below. It is a dual monitor setup. I use the i3 tiling window manager (not a DE).

I would like to learn about gating and using the Impulse response, but I can't get the IR Windows tab to work. It brings up a partial window, and the frame that is supposed to show the graphs is blank, but "blinking" as though it were trying to render it. See below screen capture.

I looked at top, and it tells me that xorg is using 99% of the available cpu. See below screen capture.

Is there a setting which I need to invoke/tweak?

First: the normal main screen with project loaded:
rew_main_screen.png

But when I hit the IR Window tab I get these results:

rew_xorg_problem.png

rew_xorg_problem2.png

System info:

keith@ada:~$ lscpu
Architecture: x86_64
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order: Little Endian
CPU(s): 8
On-line CPU(s) list: 0-7
Thread(s) per core: 2
Core(s) per socket: 4
Socket(s): 1
NUMA node(s): 1
Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
CPU family: 6
Model: 58
Model name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Stepping: 9
CPU MHz: 1600.183
CPU max MHz: 3700.0000
CPU min MHz: 1600.0000
BogoMIPS: 6784.38
Virtualization: VT-x
L1d cache: 32K
L1i cache: 32K
L2 cache: 256K
L3 cache: 8192K
NUMA node0 CPU(s): 0-7
Flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tscx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave a smep erms xsaveopt dtherm ida arat pln pts

keith@ada:~$ uname -a
Linux ada 4.9.0-6-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.88-1+deb9u1 (2018-05-07) x86_64 GNU

keith@ada:~$ xrandr --listmonitors
Monitors: 2
0: +*DVI-I-1 1280/376x1024/301+1280+0 DVI-I-1
1: +HDMI-1 1280/376x1024/301+0+0 HDMI-1

keith@ada:~$ lspci -v | grep -i vga