Windowing to minimize room effects

Veleric

Registered
Guys,
I'm new here so bear with me! I've made some DML speaker prototypes and started making measurements last night. It's my first time using REW. Well, maybe second but I didn't get very far the first time. Presently, I'm not interested in the room effects, since I have no idea yet which room (if any) these speakers might eventually end up in. I understand that windowing can help minimize the room effects, but I don't what settings to use. Are there recommended window settings to use for this purpose? Are there other suggestions besides windowing (say microphone location, etc) that minimize room effects in the measurement? I'm sure this has been asked a million times, so I apologize for that.
Thanks,
Eric

John Mulcahy

REW Author
The general aim would be to place the window so it cuts off the response just before the first reflection. How soon that occurs depends on where the speaker is positioned relative the the floor, ceiling and walls, the further away it can be placed from reflecting surfaces the wider the window can be. The narrower the window, the worse the frequency resolution and the higher the frequency below which the response is not valid. For a 3 millisecond window, for example, the lowest frequency and the frequency resolution would be 333 Hz.

Veleric

Registered
So, if I'm in say a 20x20 room with 9 ft ceilings, I could set the window for 4 ms and remove all the reflections, but have minimum frequency (and resloution) of 250 Hz, or set the window for say 10 ms and get minimum freq (and resolution) at 100 Hz, but realize that I have not eliminated the first reflections from the floor and ceiling. Is that basically correct?

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Yes. If the environment suits then outdoor testing with the speaker on a platform or with the speaker lying on the ground and the mic suspended above it can ease window constraints.

Veleric

Registered
John,