Main Amp
Threshold T200
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
OPPO BDP-105
Front Speakers
Aerial Acoustics 7Ts
Subwoofers
Velodyne (old)
Hello. I am brand new to all this. I bought a miniDSP UMIK-1 from cross-spectrum.com for myself for Christmas and I just downloaded REW software. I undocked my laptop, grabbed an HDMI cable, and went downstairs to my stereo system, only to find out that my laptop (and dock) only have Display Port, no HDMI. I was sure it had HDMI, but I was wrong. I assume that if I use the analog audio out of the computer that it is not going to have a very good output amplifier (flat down to 20 Hz). That is why I wanted to use HDMI out to my Oppo. I am mainly concerned about bass, so I do want the tools to be flat from 20-200Hz.

I can't think of any solutions other than trying to borrow a laptop with an HDMI output, or hauling my desktop and monitor downstairs. Any suggestions?

John Mulcahy

REW Author
The laptop out should be flat to 20 Hz. If it has a line input you can check the response by making a loopback measurement from headphone out to line in.

Gerry Iaria

Staff member
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Marantz Cinema 50
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Sony X800
Front Speakers
Arendal 1961 monitors
Center Channel Speaker
Arendal 1961 centre monitor
Surround Speakers
Altec c1
Surround Back Speakers
Totem Acoustic Dream catcher
Subwoofers
Arendal Sub1- Ken Kreisel 800
Screen
Samsung S95C 77inch
Remote Control
yes, L.O.L
Streaming Equipment
Apple
Streaming Subscriptions
Apple,Netflix, Prime, Skyanytime