What do you use and like to assess a room's sound quality

Matthew J Poes

AV Addict
I'm curious what others like to use for assessing a rooms sound quality. Do you use objective measurements or rely primarily on your subjective impressions? What have you disliked in a room?

I've mentioned my acoustics credentials else where, so I won't repeat, but I thought it was worth starting this with what I like to do myself and what experience has brought me. I'm still learning (as should anyone really) and continue to find things in practice that surprise me as they seem inconsistent with what I would expect based on my understanding of the physics. Those are always good learning experiences, to do something, measure its effect, see what you expect, but not hear what you expect.