REW Beta Release V5.20 beta versions 19 to 27

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
Sounds like you need to reenable mic access for REW in the System Preferences.
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
Changes in V5.20 beta 27:
  • Following some discussion of REW's fractional octave smoothing appearing overly smoothed at higher octave fractions the smoothing has been adjusted to be a little closer to a power average (as often used by other analysis packages) for those cases
  • The RTA THD figure has been extended to include harmonics up to the 50th, or as many as fit within the bandwidth of the data sample rate if lower
  • A Higher Harmonic Distortion figure has been added to the RTA showing the contribution of the 10th and higher harmonics
  • The RTA peak trace now reflects the highest levels of each block processed rather than the highest level of the averaged trace
  • The default RTA window on first installation is now Hann
  • The current SPL calibration data offset is used for imported impulse response WAV files instead of a default offset
  • A control has been added to show/hide the spectrogram colour bar
  • The phase trace colour is adjusted to ensure it isn't too light when using light background
  • On low resolution screens a scroll bar is used in the graph legend if it requires more than 4 rows
  • Added a check for zero-valued mic data on macOS with a warning to check mic access is enabled if detected
  • Bug fix: An exception could occur when starting the SPL logger
  • Bug fix: Guard against reported error arising from an invalid trace index
 

charleski

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
1
Sorry that my first post here is a moan, but beta 27 seems to have broken the RTA analyser. I've been using it to measure distortion on offline measurements taken from my LG G7 phone, recording the headphone output through my onboard audio and then dropping the wav file onto the RTA window. In beta 26 this would work intermittently, sometimes producing a java error, and sometimes just freezing at the end of the file load, but it would still identify the peaks correctly and show a proper result in the distortion window.

In beta 27 though this doesn't work at all. It doesn't identify the peaks and shows a nonsense result. I've attached a screenshot of the screen I get.
Here's the full java error text:
Code:
REW V5.20 Beta 27 running JRE 1.8.0_181 64-bit on Windows 10, en, windows-1252
 

Message:
    java.lang.NullPointerException
Stack Trace:
    roomeqwizard.WD$_C.H(y:2516)
    roomeqwizard.WD.propertyChange(y:2712)
    java.beans.PropertyChangeSupport.fire(Unknown Source)
    java.beans.PropertyChangeSupport.firePropertyChange(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.event.SwingPropertyChangeSupport.firePropertyChange(Unknown Source)
    roomeqwizard.MeasData$8.run(y:1614)
    java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
    java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
I hope this is useful
 

Attachments

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
beta 27 seems to have broken the RTA analyser. I've been using it to measure distortion on offline measurements taken from my LG G7 phone, recording the headphone output through my onboard audio and then dropping the wav file onto the RTA window.
Thanks, I've fixed that for the next build.
 

Breeman

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2019
Messages
79
Hi John,

It would be appreciated if you could consider adding the ability to export multiple impulse responses at once if you have taken a few measurements. Something like "Export all impulse responses as WAV" "will be great. Currently one is only able to export one impulse response for one measurement at the time.
 

JMB

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
2
Hi John,
Any chance to measure multiple angles automatically and then combine and/or export into a power response curve?
Thanks,
Jay
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
It would be appreciated if you could consider adding the ability to export multiple impulse responses at once if you have taken a few measurements. Something like "Export all impulse responses as WAV"
That's been on the todo list for quite a while, but I've implemented it for the next build.
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
Any chance to measure multiple angles automatically and then combine and/or export into a power response curve?
REW can't automatically measure multiple angles since it can't interact with anything to change the position of the speaker or measurement equipment. It does allow automatic incrementing of the measurement name to reflect the angles you measure at. VituixCAD can import REW measurements made at multiple angles.
 

JMB

New Member
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
2
Thanks John. I was thinking about something like software automation that might allow for a manual turntable with timed and automatically named angle measurements. I am relatively new to REW so I apologize if REW already has the capability of doing this.
Jay
 

Breeman

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2019
Messages
79
HI,

On version 5.20 beta27 it seems there is no way of showing individual filters on the EQ screen, without their overall target. I may be wrong but I seem to recall that one could do this in earlier versions. Now Filters+Target and Filter check boxes seem to do the same thing. In the image below, I may not necessarily want to see the graph shown by the arrow.
Snap90.png
 

Breeman

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2019
Messages
79
Feature request:).

It would be appreciated John if we could be able to quickly calculate the power average of the measurements (as currently implemented in the All SPL tab), but with complex phase; kind of a combination of "Average the Responses" for magnitude responses and "Vector average" for phase responses in one go. Thanks.
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
HI,

On version 5.20 beta27 it seems there is no way of showing individual filters on the EQ screen, without their overall target. I may be wrong but I seem to recall that one could do this in earlier versions. Now Filters+Target and Filter check boxes seem to do the same thing. In the image below, I may not necessarily want to see the graph shown by the arrow.
If you don't want to see the filters trace don't select it in the legend.
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
It would be appreciated John if we could be able to quickly calculate the power average of the measurements (as currently implemented in the All SPL tab), but with complex phase; kind of a combination of "Average the Responses" for magnitude responses and "Vector average" for phase responses in one go.
Vector average is magnitude and phase, that's what makes it "vector".
 

Breeman

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2019
Messages
79
Vector average is magnitude and phase, that's what makes it "vector".
Yes I know:). Vector averaging tends to lead to loss of energy at higher frequencies which I've read in some literature it's not perceptualy, an accurate respresentation of what we hear in certain circumstances. I am therefore keen to experiment with using the phase calculated by Vector averaging together with power averaging to assess the perceptual differences if any, between the two.
 

Breeman

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2019
Messages
79
I noticed that some CSD controls in the EQ tab are greyed out. How does one change the colour scheme of the CSD plot from within this tab?
Snap96.png
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
I just want to see individual filters and not combined filter response as shown below, superimposed on individual filter responses.
That isn't possible and never has been, otherwise there would still be filter traces on the graph with nothing selected in the graph legend.
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
I am therefore keen to experiment with using the phase calculated by Vector averaging together with power averaging to assess the perceptual differences if any, between the two.
What is the perceptual impact of a phase trace on a graph? If you want to see both power and vector average results, generate them both.
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
2,216
I noticed that some CSD controls in the EQ tab are greyed out. How does one change the colour scheme of the CSD plot from within this tab?
Colour schemes are not offered for the EQ waterfall because of their impact on redraw time when updating the predicted waterfall.
 
Top Bottom