Using REW with either Apollo Twin or Avid HD IO

Sound-Guy123

Registered
Hi,

I'm in the process of trying to take some acoustic measurements to determine what treatment I need in my mix room. I'm speaking to GIK acoustics and they recommended I take a measurement of the response of the room using REW. I'm a professional sound engineer so I can usually get these sorts of things to work without too much trouble but I'm really struggling to get REW to work.

I'm attempting to calibrate my soundcard (as this is the recommended first step in the GIK tutorial) but both on my main rig (AVID HD IO) and on a laptop with an Apollo Twin, I can't get REW to see the input signal. In both instances the input is metering on the interface from the sine tone coming down the loop back connection, but regardless of how I set the Input drop downs I just can't get it to meter within REW.

I would appreciate any and all help that can be offered as I really just want to get on with measuring my room and specing out the required treatment.

Thanks in advance,

Jonathan

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Which OS? On windows the Java drivers cannot see multichannel inputs or outputs, only stereo pairs, so best using the ASIO driver option on Windows. All should work OK on macOS. The soundcard won't need calibrating but going through the motions is a good way to make sure there is no monitoring, the input must not get fed back to the output.

Sound-Guy123

Registered
Which OS? On windows the Java drivers cannot see multichannel inputs or outputs, only stereo pairs, so best using the ASIO driver option on Windows. All should work OK on macOS. The soundcard won't need calibrating but going through the motions is a good way to make sure there is no monitoring, the input must not get fed back to the output.

Hey,

Thanks for responding!