UMIK-1 not working under Windows 10 64 bit with REW.

Discussion in 'Official REW (Room EQ Wizard) Support Forum' started by Satanica, May 7, 2018.

  1. Satanica

    Satanica New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, with REW I get the following error with a UMIK-1 under Windows 10 64 bit on my HTPC.
    It appears to me that something else (other software) might be locking the UMIK-1 sound device.
    I tried disabling all other sound devices in Device Manager but to no avail.
    I then tried a separate PC (laptop) and do not get the error, I even managed to do a little measurement of the lastop's speaker with the UMIK-1.
    I'm stumped.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Unable to access the selected device
    javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: Microphone (Umik-1 Gain: 18dB ) does not have any lines supporting PCM_SIGNED 48000.0 Hz, 16 bit, stereo, 4 bytes/frame, little-endian

    Input device error

    Message:
    javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: Microphone (Umik-1 Gain: 18dB ) does not have any lines supporting PCM_SIGNED 48000.0 Hz, 16 bit, stereo, 4 bytes/frame, little-endian
    Level:
    SEVERE
    Stack Trace:
    Microphone (Umik-1 Gain: 18dB ) does not have any lines supporting PCM_SIGNED 48000.0 Hz, 16 bit, stereo, 4 bytes/frame, little-endian
    roomeqwizard.kD._(Unknown Source)
    roomeqwizard.JD$11.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComboBox.fireActionEvent(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComboBox.setSelectedItem(Unknown Source)
    roomeqwizard.kD.A(Unknown Source)
    roomeqwizard.kD.C(Unknown Source)
    roomeqwizard.kD$1.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.Timer.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.Timer$DoPostEvent.run(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
    java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
     
    #1 Satanica, May 7, 2018
    Last edited: May 7, 2018
  2. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    80
    Try unchecking "Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" on the Advanced tab of the Audio properties for the UMIK (right click on volume icon, select recording devices, then select the UMIK and properties).
     
  3. Satanica

    Satanica New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks for the reply.

    After a Google search I did find a couple of other instances of this error so I have already tried your suggestion but to no avail.

    I've also tried the latest official version of REW and the latest beta version. I've also tried both 32 and 64 bit versions and versions with and without integrated Java runtime.

    Under the UMIK-1 Windows device I can "Listen to this device" and hear my own voice.
     
  4. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    80
    Strange. What is the default format shown as on the UMIK-1 properties Advanced tab?

    You could try using ASIO4All and using the ASIO drivers in REW to see if the UMIK can be accessed via ASIO.
     
  5. Satanica

    Satanica New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes indeed strange. It is set to 24bit/48k and is locked at that i.e. the drop down list is disabled. I think this is expected under Windows for the UMIK-1.

    I'll try your suggestion and report back.
     
  6. Satanica

    Satanica New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have managed to get things working with ASIO4ALL.
    It's certainly not my preferred choice, but at least we know something is working.
    Any suggestions of where to from here?
     
  7. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    80
    Pretty odd behaviour. ASIO4All just wraps the WDM driver, which is what JavaSound also uses. Presume you have restarted the HTPC and there are no other copies of REW or other audio software running? Disabling other sound devices really shouldn't have any effect at all on the UMIK-1, but it would mean that any other application looking for an audio input would end up with the UMIK as the only option. Probably better off not disabling things and setting your onboard audio as the default input device so other applications have something else to access.
     
  8. Satanica

    Satanica New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I've restarted and set the input device to default.
    I thought ASIO4ALL at least at some stage was a Kernal Streaming wrapper.
    I still think there might be some sort of UMIK-1 issue with my HTPC as below is an error I get when I get when I click on any of the options below in the Control Panel. I don't get this error on the laptop.
    upload_2018-5-9_9-21-37.png

    Thanks again for your effort and patience with this.
     
  9. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    80
    Doesn't look healthy, but I'm afraid I don't know what might cause that.
     
  10. Bernard

    Bernard New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. litolff

    litolff New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
     
    #11 litolff, May 10, 2018
    Last edited: May 10, 2018
  12. litolff

    litolff New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  13. Truthunter

    Truthunter New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issue after W10 updated today. Is the only remedy at this point to revert back to previous W10 version or use ASIO4All?
     
  14. litolff

    litolff New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi !
    By using this way i thing having a solution :
    1- open config panel on windows 10 and type "sound" on the top window :
    Capture 9.JPG Capture 2.JPG

    Clic on the last option "all results"
    After open the next window by clicking on the speaker icon

    Next, open the record dialog box :
    Capture 3.JPG
    Now click on the down left dialog box "configure" :

    Capture 4.JPG

    Yes its a little bit longer but ...
    Now one step more :
    Click on the second line by the top :
    "configure your microphone"
    "Welcome to the voice recognition"
    After make your choice for any microphone (any of them)

    Capture 6.JPG

    By clicking on the last icon normaly you can see a green line, victory your microphone is ON !
    and is on under REW of course !

    Capture 8.JPG

    Finish !
    its no necessary to go further, close all dialog box.

    I thing there is one more bug on the new Windows 10 (1803).

    Sorry its tooo long ...
     
  15. Truthunter

    Truthunter New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    George, thanks for the above reply.

    I tried doing what you posted but when I get to the "Configure Voice Recognition" window, I get an error message when I click on "Configure Microphone". I will post a screen shot of the message later when I get home from work.

    It seems that this issue is related to the "Voice recognition" feature that Microsoft added to this latest Windows 10 update (1803). I can't get that feature to work or get any microphones (even the one built in to the laptop) to work.
     
  16. Truthunter

    Truthunter New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is the message I get when I click on "configure microphone"
    [​IMG]
     
  17. S6Per

    S6Per New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. Truthunter

    Truthunter New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. Truthunter

    Truthunter New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. S6Per

    S6Per New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page