Subwoofer Room Mode Treatment

Teerhand

Registered
So i have been tinkering with REW for a couple of Months now, with devastating Results in the Beginning, because i don´t know much about Eqíng at all.
My first Targets in REW were set much too low, resulting in no Bass at all (No Bass, no Problem with Modes though :)
Then later on i managed to get nice sounding Bass but i realized after a couple of days, that i couldn´t hear the Bassist in certain Songs, which made me reconsider Eq´ing as a Noob alltogether.

So i hope you Guys can give me some tips on Measuring and applying EQ Methods.

I use an uncalibrated Samson condensator Mic, in the hope this doesn´t matter so much below 150hz
1) I use an external SPL Meter to get 85db on my Speakers (Adam A5x) and 93 on the Sub (Krk 10s) using the speaker calibration signal for the speakers and the sub signal for the sub (calibrating the subs volume is tricky because of the modes i guess)
2) I measure 23-150hz ; -17db; 256k; 8Sweeps; and all Speakers (because of Phase, right? at least that was my idea)
3) I open EQ with 1/24 smoothing and try to Eq just a little tiny bit, meaning i try to catch the bumps at 33 and 130 hz, by adjusting the target level pretty high. and a Match Range of 29-140hz without boost and withought narrow Filters.

This sounds pretty good, but heck what do I know basically?

Apart from this, i wasn´t able to apply boost to smooth out the dips in frequency response. I´m aware of the complications boost introduces, but i couldn´t get REW to try to flatten out the dips even when i set the highest boost values available.

So what can i improve? Is what i did catastrophic in your opinion etc. as i said, it does sound better now, but i had that boomy subwoofer signature for a while now, and before that i didn´t have a sub

Attachments

• 76db24 smooth.txt
    680 bytes · Views: 6
  • Mär 11 11_50_40.mdat
    84.3 KB · Views: 9
Last edited:

John Mulcahy

REW Author