REW Beta Release SPL missing?

TonyVO

Registered
Hi,

I'm new to this, so I'm likely being very dumb here.....

I've run my first tests, including soundcard calibration. All tests show up in the left thumbnail column. However, only the soundcard calibrations are showing in the main window when selected. The other measurement tests showed up initially, but no longer show now; at this time, only the calibration plots display in the main window. The Phase, Soundcard Cal, Mic/Meter Cal, all show up when selected, but not the main SPL plot. What am I missing?

(Using v5.19 beta 11)

Thanks, Tony.

Screen Shot 2018-08-07 at 10.04.47 PM.png

John Mulcahy

REW Author
If you look at the graph legend you will see the SPL is 358 dB, so off the top of the graph. Go through the SPL calibration process. For existing measurements you can use the graph controls to offset the measurements down to a sensible level.

TonyVO

Registered
If you look at the graph legend you will see the SPL is 358 dB, so off the top of the graph. Go through the SPL calibration process. For existing measurements you can use the graph controls to offset the measurements down to a sensible level.

John,

Thanks so much for replying...

The loopback seems to calibrate well enough... this is the screenshot from the soundcard calibration. A test on the loopback per the instructions confirms this to be the case.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 7.37.15 AM.png

Then I remove the loopback and move to the mic. And plug in the mic. I hit measure, and before I begin, I run check levels once more to be sure everything is correct.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 7.39.41 AM (2).png

Check levels seems fine (if I adjust the level to -12dbfs I get clipping errors, so I backed it off to -22). Here's confirmation...

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 7.51.40 AM.png

Then I run the actual measurement .... and it comes out at 360db... Below is the screen cap from the actual run during the test. It's a little hot, but not outrageous?