Soundcard calibration, weird curve

MrFiama

Registered
Hi,

I apologize if this topic has already been discussed. I'm a newbie and happy owner of my modest Steinberg UR22c. I recently bought a set of Genelec 8020D and I wanted to do a calibration of my setup at home. So I download REW (such a fantastic peace of software) and I proceed to do a soundcard calibration. I connected the loopback and set up REW as suggested in many articles.

ASIO driver, output Left, input 1, the blender control is all the way to RAW settings, phones output to zero, phantom power off. I adjusted the input level to -12dB to match the reference output and this is the result when I press calibrate soundcard.

calibrationresults.png

This doesn't look good, does it? Seems like there is some kind of filter altering the signal. I've been looking for some kind of extra processing filter in my system but I can't find anything unnormal. Switching the loopback cable doesn't help. I'm running windows 11 64 bit. Can anybody point me in some direction?

Thanks in advance.

John Mulcahy

REW Author
That's pretty odd, does look awfully like EQ but shouldn't be possible with ASIO. Do you get the same results with the R channel and input 2? How about R output to input 1? If there is some kind of monitoring going on the cross connection should avoid it.

jschwender

More  
Front Speakers
Nubert digital pro
Other Speakers or Equipment
Philips dss940
do you use the Steinberg / Yamaha driver ?

MrFiama

Registered
I do, I can post a screenshot of the settings before I take the calibration.

MrFiama

Registered
That's pretty odd, does look awfully like EQ but shouldn't be possible with ASIO. Do you get the same results with the R channel and input 2? How about R output to input 1? If there is some kind of monitoring going on the cross connection should avoid it.