Some problems about time and phase workaround (and other)

bobolix

Registered
I'm quite new at the REW though, but I got couple tens of years experience with acoustic measurement. I appreciate very much the effort of Mr. Mulcahy and I must say the REW is a very powerful instrument. Nevertheless, I found several problems working with REW.

1. Trying to enter the offset value manually (i.e. numerically) I found only the whole numbers are accepted and if the value is entered in decimal format with comma it is ignored. It is quite unpleasant, as the setting by slider is quite coarse.

2. The calculation of the phase doesn't reflect the window position (the way as I'm accustomed at the DRA MLSSA). In fact the position as well as the window length and type isn't reflected for the phase at all, the window is applied only for the calculation of the magnitude and/or SPL.

3. For the measurement only sweep is available, which is only modestly configurable, the noise offer is inactive - being planned for the further beta versions maybe.

John Mulcahy

REW Author
1. Trying to enter the offset value manually (i.e. numerically) I found only the whole numbers are accepted and if the value is entered in decimal format with comma it is ignored. It is quite unpleasant, as the setting by slider is quite coarse.
I guess your are referring to the t=0 offset slider. Try using a decimal point instead of a comma, it may work better, but the easiest way to make fine adjustments to the value is to use the left and right arrow keys, per the help.

2. The calculation of the phase doesn't reflect the window position (the way as I'm accustomed at the DRA MLSSA). In fact the position as well as the window length and type isn't reflected for the phase at all, the window is applied only for the calculation of the magnitude and/or SPL.