REW Windows 64-bit installer

REW Beta Release REW Windows 64-bit installer V5.20 beta 59

You Must Login or Register to Download

napilopez

Registered
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
8
Please zip and attach the REW log files folder, the location is shown in the About REW dialog. Please also say which trace arithmetic operation you were using and attach examples of files that showed the problem.
Thanks John. I've attached the requested files.

It happens with any arithmetic - I noticed it first with division, but it happens with all the rest too.

Upon further investigation, the glitch may have something to do with smoothing. For example, in the two attached measurements, the calculation consistently freezes at 75 percent if I try to run the calculation on the curves unsmoothed or 1/48 smoothed. But if I switch the one called "ER" to 1/24 smoothing the arithmetic works fine.

Thanks for you help!
 

Attachments

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
John Mulcahy updated REW Windows 64-bit installer with a new update entry:

REW V5.20 beta 47 Windows 64-bit installer

Changes in V5.20 beta 47:

  • Frequency (.txt, .frd, .csv) and impedance (.zma) response files can be dragged and dropped onto the main REW window for import
  • Added a "Show slice at cursor" option to the spectrogram controls to plot the level at the cursor Y position below the spectrogram

Bug fixes:
  • Trace arithmetic operations on measurements without an impulse response could produce an exception
  • Incorrect frequencies in data exported at 48 PPO...
Read the rest of this update entry...
 

Anatoliy Gavrilov

Registered
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
7
My AV System  
Main Amp
SE - 6С33С - 6П15П
Additional Amp
Technics SE-M100
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Sony CDP-557 ESD
Front Speakers
Seas 3-way
Hi John! A new version of beta-47 has been launched and does not fit into the phase frequency measurement graph.

30639
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
Hi John! A new version of beta-47 has been launched and does not fit into the phase frequency measurement graph.
Are you referring to the phase range? The right hand phase graph uses the grid lines from the left hand axis and keeps sensible breaks between them (30 degrees for the image you posted). That may mean the overall range is a little different than the range requested, as it adapts to accommodate the left hand axis grid lines. You could alter the left hand range so it spanned 60 dB rather than 50, or alter the requested phase range to something larger so it covers the -180 to 180 span.
 

Anatoliy Gavrilov

Registered
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
7
My AV System  
Main Amp
SE - 6С33С - 6П15П
Additional Amp
Technics SE-M100
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Sony CDP-557 ESD
Front Speakers
Seas 3-way
And when I set the graphics limit to 270 - 270 degrees, it became like this:

30640
 

Anatoliy Gavrilov

Registered
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
7
My AV System  
Main Amp
SE - 6С33С - 6П15П
Additional Amp
Technics SE-M100
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Sony CDP-557 ESD
Front Speakers
Seas 3-way
You could alter the left hand range so it spanned 60 dB rather than 50, or alter the requested phase range to something larger so it covers the -180 to 180 span.

In measurements, the amplitude range is always taken at 50 dB. I do not want to change it to view the phase graph.

I will dig deeper.)
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
I'll add 36 and 72 degree breakpoints for the phase axis in the next build so that +/-180 and +/-360 can span the graph height with a 50 dB range.
 

Breeman

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2019
Messages
107
I'll add 36 and 72 degree breakpoints for the phase axis in the next build so that +/-180 and +/-360 can span the graph height with a 50 dB range.
Thank you for this John, I must say that getting phase to fit nicely between +/-180 also gave me grey hairs in the past. I would just play around with the axis until it fitted, especially when using the graph capture tool. That said, I noticed that the both magnitude and phase range axis change as soon as one presses the copy button in the Capture graph image popup box. It seems these changes are influenced by the size of the image width chosen as size 1024 seems to keep everything intact.

REW is great, your efforts are appreciated:hail:
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
John Mulcahy updated REW Windows 64-bit installer with a new update entry:

REW V5.20 beta 48 Windows 64-bit installer

Changes in V5.20 beta 48:
  • Full range pink periodic noise now has flat spectrum below 10 Hz, like the pink random noise. To cut off at 10 Hz use the Custom option.
  • Added more phase steps to allow -180..180 with a 50 dB SPL range
  • Refinements to EQ target match, including faster matching
  • Bug fix: The predicted response was not valid and showed -240 dB if the filter set contained a low pass filter
  • Bug fix: An exception could occur when plotting the impulse envelope
  • Bug...
Read the rest of this update entry...
 

Midas

Registered
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
6
@John Mulcahy I think I've found a bug in the latest beta 48 (which was also present in beta 47). GD -> Controls. If the Generate minimum phase button is pressed two times the following exception occurs:

(Pardon if this is not the spot to report error. If not, where do you want it?)

PS! Thank you for this excellent software! I love it!

Code:
REW V5.20 Beta 48 running JRE 1.8.0_202 64-bit on Windows 10, en, windows-1252

Message:
    java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 1193
Stack Trace:
1193
    roomeqwizard.MeasData.minMax(y:6875)
    roomeqwizard.MeasData.gdMinMax(y:6777)
    roomeqwizard.MeasData.excessGDMinMax(y:4509)
    roomeqwizard.kH.C(y:5263)
    roomeqwizard.kH.A(y:3380)
    roomeqwizard.kH.Q(y:1591)
    roomeqwizard.kH.A(y:2721)
    roomeqwizard.kH.A(y:2486)
    roomeqwizard.kH.paintComponent(y:406)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayeredPane.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayer.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.plaf.LayerUI.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.plaf.ComponentUI.update(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintComponent(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayer.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayer.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.plaf.LayerUI.paint(Unknown Source)
    roomeqwizard.LB.paint(y:2131)
    javax.swing.plaf.ComponentUI.update(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintComponent(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayer.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintToOffscreen(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager$PaintManager.paintDoubleBuffered(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager$PaintManager.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager.paint(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent._paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayer.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.plaf.LayerUI.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayer.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayer.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.plaf.LayerUI.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JLayer.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.JComponent.paintImmediately(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager$4.run(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager$4.run(Unknown Source)
    java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager.prePaintDirtyRegions(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager.access$1200(Unknown Source)
    javax.swing.RepaintManager$ProcessingRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
    java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
I think I've found a bug in the latest beta 48 (which was also present in beta 47). GD -> Controls. If the Generate minimum phase button is pressed two times
When you say "pressed two times" do you mean double-clicking the button? I can't reproduce that, but it may depend on processing and graphics redraw times.
 

Midas

Registered
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
6
When you say "pressed two times" do you mean double-clicking the button? I can't reproduce that, but it may depend on processing and graphics redraw times.
No, not double click. Click it, wait for it to draw the Excess group delay, then press the button again. Then is raises the exception.

I have a mdat file I can share with you that consistently crashes on my installation. Is there some way I can share this with you?
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
Sure, just attach the file to a post

Edit: never mind, I have reproduced it now, need to have Allow log spacing selected to trigger it.
 
Last edited:

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
I think I've found a bug in the latest beta 48 (which was also present in beta 47). GD -> Controls. If the Generate minimum phase button is pressed two times
Fixed for the next build, as a workaround in the meantime uncheck "Allow 96 PPO log spacing" in the Analysis preferences.
 

Oleg Perminov

Registered
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
1
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Masconi Gladen 8 to 12 Aerospace
Main Amp
Art Sound
Additional Amp
Art Sound
Other Amp
Art Sound
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Alpine CDE195
Front Speakers
Audison Voce AV3.0, Morel Hibrid 402, AD
Center Channel Speaker
Audison Voce AV3.0, Morel Hibrid 402, AD
Surround Speakers
NO
Surround Back Speakers
NO
Front Height Speakers
no
Rear Height Speakers
no
Subwoofers
Morel 30''
Other Speakers or Equipment
no
Video Display Device
no
Screen
no
Remote Control
Aerospace
Other Equipment
no
Здравствуйте! Я скачал REW Windows 64-bit установщик V5.20 beta 48. Но я нигде не вижу фазовый график, и на графике спектра нет разметки фазовой шкалы. Фазовый график должен быть где-то связан?
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
Здравствуйте! Я скачал REW Windows 64-bit установщик V5.20 beta 48. Но я нигде не вижу фазовый график, и на графике спектра нет разметки фазовой шкалы. Фазовый график должен быть где-то связан?
Sounds like you may be looking at the RTA. REW is not a two-channel FFT analyser, its RTA only shows magnitude. To see phase you need to make sweep measurements.
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
John Mulcahy updated REW Windows 64-bit installer with a new update entry:

REW V5.20 beta 49 Windows 64-bit installer

Changes in V5.20 beta 49:
  • Added support for sample rates from 352.8 kHz to 1536 kHz to the Linux build
  • Added 2M and 4M FFT lengths for the RTA (mainly relevant when using very high sample rates)
  • Further refinements to EQ target match, with better handling of boost filters
  • When a stepped level measurement is selected do not adjust the X axis span
  • Added setup info to header lines when distortion data is exported as text
  • Bug fix: Index out of bounds could occur after...
Read the rest of this update entry...
 

ancientwizard

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2017
Messages
7

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
I have been downloading REW for quite some time without a problem but suddenly Windows is telling me that beta 49 can harm my computer. Has something changed significantly in your program or are my Windows security settings goofed up.
The code signing certificate was renewed on 1st May, it might take Windows some time to build up trust in the new certificate.
 

charleski

Registered
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
2
Possible bug in the latest beta 49

My AV receiver is hooked up via HDMI from my Nvidia 1060, I'm using FlexASIO to route audio out to it from REW.
If I open the generator panel and the levels panel, and then switch output channel in the box on the generator panel I get an alert with the following error code:
Code:
REW V5.20 Beta 49 running JRE 1.8.0_181 64-bit on Windows 10, en, windows-1252


Message:
    java.lang.NullPointerException
Stack Trace:
    roomeqwizard.rC.ǚ(y:3411)
    roomeqwizard.E$_A$1$1.run(y:2744)
    java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.access$500(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
    java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    java.security.ProtectionDomain$JavaSecurityAccessImpl.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
    java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
If I only have the generator panel open then I can switch outputs without getting this error.
If I have both panels open and first close the levels panel and then change output in the generator panel, then I don't get the error.
 
Last edited:

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,369
Possible bug in the latest beta 49

If I open the generator panel and the levels panel, and then switch output channel in the box on the generator panel I get an alert with the following error code:
Thanks, I have fixed that for the next build.
 

Pugs

Registered
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
1
Hi, thank you for this great piece of software. I have a question please, how do I install the latest version of Window 64bit edition with JRE?

Regards
 

Audiomig

Registered
Joined
Sep 16, 2017
Messages
1
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Audio GD Master 9 / Anthem AVM 60
Main Amp
Audio GD Master 2H / Anthem A5
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
OPPO 105
Front Speakers
Tannoy Canterbury / JBL
Center Channel Speaker
JBL
Surround Speakers
JBL
Surround Back Speakers
JBL
Hi!
don't know if this is the right place to post this but here it goes:
I tried to onstall the REW software but it always stops with the following message
31538


I already downloaded a couple of times but always get the above message, can someone tell me whats the problem?
Thank you and rgs.
 
Top Bottom