REW no longer recognises input

Discussion in 'Official REW (Room EQ Wizard) Support Forum' started by Mikal42, Jul 15, 2017.

  1. Mikal42

    Mikal42 New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using REW for some time now but since the recent Windows creators update I cannot get it to see the microphone input. It sees the sound card and it is the same settings as previously but nothing comes through! The sound card still works with other software ok. I bought a separate USB mic converter and even when set to this no input comes through. It is as if the software no longer accepts an input but it is obviously something else. I've tried uninstalling a reinstalling with the latest version but it is still the same!
     
  2. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    34
    Can you post a screenshot of the REW Soundcard preferences with the mic input selected?
    When you say nothing comes through do you mean REW doesn't work at all, i.e. you can't select an input, or the levels are very low? If the levels are low what level are you seeing?
     
  3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Does the mic or soundcard show up in the Window’s Recording Devices window?


    Regards,

    Wayne
     
  4. Mikal42

    Mikal42 New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can select the input, I use an external audio interface and that is still shown in the preferences, the same if I use a USB mic adaptor, I can select that. I have tried selecting both left and right channels too. There is just no signal. Oddly, when I run a signal check and switch the phantom power off and then on the meters register the 'thump'. but still no audio comes through.
    I hadn't changed any settings since previous use but it just stopped working after the large Windows Creators update.
     
  5. Mikal42

    Mikal42 New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, everything shows up fine in the Window’s Recording Devices window. Everything works fine in Audacity and in my DAW, Ableton Live. I can usually find and fix problems with computers but this has me totally baffled.
     
  6. Mikal42

    Mikal42 New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clipboard01.jpg

    This one is using a USB mic adaptor.again I have tried both Left and Right settings ...
    Clipboard02.jpg
     
  7. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    34
    Which REW version are you running? What do the REW levels meters show?
     
  8. Mikal42

    Mikal42 New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am now running the latest version. The meters only show the output signal and nothing on the .input ..
     
  9. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    34
    Could you post a screenshot of the REW input meters? The ones that appear when you use the Levels button in the main window.
     
  10. Mikal42

    Mikal42 New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, not sure what this will tell you. I presume you mean when measuring, so here you go:
    Clipboard03.jpg
     
  11. Mikal42

    Mikal42 New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed the program on an old Windows XP laptop that I have and fortunately, it works fine!
    So at least this gets me out of trouble, in fact I shall probably just use this from now on as the problem with the other machine just seems beyond it!
     
  12. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    34
    That shows the data from the input is all zeroes. There is a (slim) chance it is an issue with setting the input level, if you select the Control input mixer/volume box on the REW soundcard settings REW will try and set the input level itself, which might help.

    Are you running the REW version that includes a JRE or relying on a Java version you installed on the PC?
     
  13. Hipper

    Hipper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Strangely I've just had this problem where everything seemed to be working properly but the signal from the microphone in effect wasn't moving from the mic pre-amp to my laptop.

    It turns out that Java was not installed on the laptop. Installing Java solved the problem.

    (I'm trying to work out why Java was not installed [when it clearly was the last time I used REW] and I can only guess that when I updated REW I couldn't update Java because I was working offline and must have forgot)
     

Share This Page