REW EQ 1-position or multiple position for HT

Discussion in 'Official REW (Room EQ Wizard) Support Forum' started by soccerTOOLsu, Nov 8, 2018 at 2:17 PM.

  1. soccerTOOLsu

    soccerTOOLsu New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    REW EQ 1-position or multiple position
    I'm ready to do the REW measurements, I have PC set up with software installed and operational, a calibrated UMIK-1, mic stand boom, and I've read the "Getting Started with REW Rev 5.48 Sept 7 2018" document.


    The document appears to only take one set of measurements for the MLP and EQ what you can and room treat what you can.


    Is that all?


    I'm trying to set-up a Home Media Room with a 5.2 set-up.


    Looks like all that work is for a "1-position" set-up.


    What do y'all do after the "1-position" REW, UMIK set up? Do you then run Audyssey multiple position set up? Or does running Audyssey ontop of REW EQ too much signal processing? I'm trying to optimize sound for a 4' x 2' area on a sectional couch.


    What do you guys recommend to optimize sound over the single "1-position" location or is the "1-position" EQ the best it gets?
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Hi soccer,

    REW does not do any processing. It’s merely a measurement platform.

    However, some people do use REW to help figure out what signal processing (equalization) is needed, if they are applying it manually.

    If you are using Audyssey or something similar, a measurement at the listening position (or anywhere else you want to measure in your 4’ x 2’ seat), taken before and after, will show you changes Audyssey made to system frequency response.

    Regards,
    Wayne
     
  3. soccerTOOLsu

    soccerTOOLsu New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see your point, thank you for clarification Wayne, I am getting ahead of myself.

    I have a mini-dsp 2x4HD to do processing for the Subs and looking to get a Dirac module as well. I see the Dirac (minidsp) shows where to take multiple measurements.

    I'll look and see what Audyssey is doing for me now before I move forward.
     

Share This Page