Reference Speaker when using acoustic timing reference to measure delay

MAD

I'm using a UMIK1 USB microphone for input and an external DAC for output. I want to measure two drivers in a box (2x12" MID and 1x 90x40 degrees horn HI) and want to measure the delay beween the two drivers coming from their mounting distance (both on one baffle but the horn is deeper then the cone of the 12"). Am I right that I have to set "use acoustic timing reference" because I cannot use loopback as reference, then I set the output channel to "left" and connect the HI channel to left and MID channel to right? The sweep will then be supplied at left channel (HI) and the acoustic reference signal at right channel (MID), correct? So the mid channel will be my reference speaker if I understand correctly? Where can I see then the delay between HI and MID based resulting on that measurement?
I'm new to using REW so I'm not sure to having understood correctly the process of measuring delays with it :-)
Martin

One more thing, I should say that the microphone is directed to the center of the box for all measurements (spl, phase, delay) and will not be moved

AudiocRaver

Senior Reviewer
Staff member
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Onkyo TX-SR705 Receiver
Main Amp
Crown XLS 1502 DriveCore-2 (x2 as monoblock)
Additional Amp
Behringer A500 Reference Power Amplifier
Front Speakers
MartinLogan Electromotion ESL Electrostatic (x2)
Center Channel Speaker
Phantom Center
Surround Speakers
NSM Audio Model 5 2-Way (x2)
Subwoofers
JBL ES150P Powered Subwoofer (x2)
Your description sounds like you are setting up for measurements properly.

MAD

That‘s good to hear but I still don‘t understand where to find the measured delay between HI and MID following my procedure :-)
Can you give me a hint?

Richard Gilbert

Registered
More  
Marantz av7702 Atmos 5.4.4
Main Amp
Crown Dsi2000
Additional Amp
Crown Xls 2000, Crown XLS 1500, 2 Inuke 3KDSP's
Other Amp
Qsc Rmx 1450, Qsc RMX 850, Inuke 6kDSP