Newbie: phase adj of subwoofer using REW + Umik-1 (minidsp)

mijen

Registered
More  
Other Equipment
Umik-1 mini-usb
I would like to compare delay of signal passing through subwoofer to delay in stereo speakers. Purpose is to align the signals in the crossover point using phase adjustment on subwoofer.

Can I use REW with only a Umik-1 from minidsp for this?

I'm completely new to REW and it seems like the coolest software around for this purpose. However, the many options also seem a little overwhelming. Anyone willing to hint me in the right direction or even better provide some steps I need to take. Note I'm not interested in the absolute delay, only in aligning delay of subwoofer and stereo speakers.

I'm looking forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards,
Michael

jtalden

More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Marantz AV7705 Pre/Pro
Main Amp
VTV 6 chnl NC252MP P-amp x 2
Additional Amp
Behringer DCX2496 x 2
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
OPPO BDP-103 Universal Player
Front Speakers
DIY SEAS H1456/H1212 Spkr x 5
Subwoofers
DIY JBL 2235H 15" SW x 2
Video Display Device
JVC DLA-X790R
Screen
Da-Lite Da-Snap 39105V - 92"
Suggestion

Setup:
  1. Mic at listening position
  2. Setup REW RTA and signal generator as shown below
  3. Start signal generator and RTA and then adjust volume to achieve about 60 - 65 dB midrange sound level. [this protects your ears and provides enough sound level for this testing]
  4. Stop the signal generator and RTA
  5. Set the SW phase to 0°
Testing sequence:
  1. Retain current SW polarity for the following.
  2. Start the RTA and then the signal generator.
  3. Stop the RTA after 2 (or more) trace updates and then stop the signal generator.
  4. Save current RTA measurement and label it as "0°" phase
  5. Adjust phase on SW to 30°
  6. Start the RTA and then the signal generator.
  7. Stop the RTA after a few trace updates and then stop the signal generator.
  8. Save current RTA measurement and label it as "30°" phase